Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 22nd, 2024, 10:22 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Problems with strings in flex
PostPosted: December 25th, 2009, 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: November 14th, 2009, 11:02 am
Posts: 24
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia,Spain)
Opus: v 7.04
OS: W7 Pro 64
System: Corei7/ Nvidia Quadro4000/ 12Gb
Hello
I'm trying to extract a word from a text string, and works fine on my opus editor (Prewiev publication), but not when I publish in flex ( "word" is one of the functions supported by Opus OpusScript Flex)

I'm doing wrong or a bug in the program ??


function kk(){
var middleName = String.word(NewFullName,NewIndex)
NewWord=textObj.middleName()
}

(NewFullName, NewIndex & NewWord are previously defined as system text variables )




Opus Pro 6 + Service pack 6.1 / Windos Xp Sp2 AMD Athlom 64x2Dual/Core Processor 5000+ 3..50 GB Ram/Ati Radeon X195
Universidad Autonoma de Bellaterra ( Barcelona, Spain)


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 25th, 2009, 11:34 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Code:
NewWord=textObj.middleName()


maybe this:
Code:
NewWord=middleName


middleName() is not a valid function I think.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 26th, 2009, 9:27 am 
Offline

Joined: November 14th, 2009, 11:02 am
Posts: 24
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia,Spain)
Opus: v 7.04
OS: W7 Pro 64
System: Corei7/ Nvidia Quadro4000/ 12Gb
Lar, thanks for the help.

Sorry, clearly middleName() is not a Opus function, is an error when I copied my code in the post (I was experimenting like crazy),you can look at the script in the "TestWord.imp" I sent.

Code:
function kk(){
var middleName = String.word(NewFullName,NewIndex)
NewWord=middleName
}


In this. Ilm, practically I have only followed the example that is in OpusScript Help. It must be a nonsense, but I do not work !

I wish I could help




Opus Pro 6.4 / Windos Xp Sp2 AMD Athlom 64x2Dual/Core Processor 5000+ 3.50 GB Ram/Ati Radeon X195


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 28th, 2009, 1:14 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
I get the same result as you did. Works in Opus Preview. Does not work after Opus publish .swf

(I only opened .swf in Internet Explorer ActiveX. I do not have or use Flash player on this system. I do not use Flex much.)

Maybe others will know more.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 28th, 2009, 10:56 am 
Offline

Joined: November 14th, 2009, 11:02 am
Posts: 24
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia,Spain)
Opus: v 7.04
OS: W7 Pro 64
System: Corei7/ Nvidia Quadro4000/ 12Gb
:wink:
Thanks Lar
I hope someone will find a solution
I also prefer to publish. "Exe", but it seems that in the coming times, the "flex/flash" is taking much importance. and we must begin to learn.
I believe that when fully implemented in Opus, will be a very powerful tool !!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: No luck here either
PostPosted: January 1st, 2010, 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2005, 3:16 pm
Posts: 86
Opus: Opus Pro v9.75
OS: Windows 10.?
System: HP xw660 Server 32GB RAM, Toshiba Satellite Laptop
nasua,

I also got the same result as Lar_123 and yourself, i.e. the functions are used in Preview mode but not in the published program. It seems that Flex ignores the string functions when published. I tried several approaches to the problem without success. I was unable to find a way simply using the 'actions' event, rather than a function, to extract a substring without using a script action.

I also want to extract part of a string to change the appearance of the selected substring without changing the rest of the string. I have been able to do this for Text objects, but not variables. It's challenging, but that's the nature of programming!!

Paul

_________________
Opus 9.6
HP xw6600 Workstation, Intel64 , Intel(R) XEON(R) CPU E5430 2.7GHz, RAM 8GB, NVIDIA Quatro K600, Samsung SSD 840 Pro Series: 238.5GB , 2 x 1TB HDD, 2 x PnP Generic monitors
Living a long, healthy, happy & prosperous life!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 3rd, 2010, 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: November 14th, 2009, 11:02 am
Posts: 24
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia,Spain)
Opus: v 7.04
OS: W7 Pro 64
System: Corei7/ Nvidia Quadro4000/ 12Gb
Paul, Lar_123:

Indeed it seems that programming is a bit uncertain ... but it's a shame that so many bugs at the time of publication in flex
I have also met insurmountable problems with "while" and other commands,it simply will not work is published...
Perhaps we could create a group to test all the commands of flex and communicate the results and experiences to the DW technical department.

:D I heard that this year is good


Opus Pro 6.4 / Windos Xp Sp2 AMD Athlom 64x2Dual/Core Processor 5000+ 3..50 GB Ram/Ati Radeon X195
Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona ( Barcelona,Catalonia,Spain)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 3rd, 2010, 12:40 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
I found this in the Opus help files regarding Flex.
It seems greater care is needed to plan and also structure... a Pub under development.
Quote:
Functions all return immediately. In OpusScript many functions do not return a value until the action they perform has completed (such as the Move() function). It is not possible to replicate this behaviour in Flex, therefore all functions return immediately.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 3rd, 2010, 1:50 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
nasua wrote:
but it's a shame that so many bugs at the time of publication in flex


Not bug. Opus is not a flash replacement. Lar is both right and well read.

Use a for loop with a charAt both work under flex and will achieve the same end.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 3rd, 2010, 6:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 14th, 2009, 11:02 am
Posts: 24
Location: Barcelona (Catalonia,Spain)
Opus: v 7.04
OS: W7 Pro 64
System: Corei7/ Nvidia Quadro4000/ 12Gb
Mack, have mercy, do not go from smartass, I just want to learn !!!


1.- Sorry if my English is not quite right, I never wanted to say "shame" simply means "pity" or something (good sense)
2.- I'm new to the forums, but all I say is to try to humbly work for perfecting the application.
3.- Obviously,Opus is not Flash (for this is the flahs), no one disputes or compare, but it's a reach enjoyed very good results with Opus
4- I read and long - Functions all return immediately. In OpusScript many functions do not return a value until the action they perform has completed (such as the Move() function). It is not possible to replicate this behaviour in Flex, therefore all functions return immediately. - but not how to apply this concept to the text strings

Josep
Opus Pro 6.4 / Windos Xp Sp2 AMD Athlom 64x2Dual/Core Processor 5000+ 3..50 GB Ram/Ati Radeon X195
Universidad Autonoma de Barcelona ( Barcelona,Catalonia,Spain)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 3rd, 2010, 10:11 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
4- I read and long -- but not how to apply this concept to the text strings

What I would do to resolve 'what works' at this point is this...
Take specific, individual commands you want to work with --- and test them out using Standard Triggers and Actions. You can still have OpusScript there, just put short sets of statements in the Script pane (as an added Action >>> Programming >>> Script). And to start with, see if your string manipulations work outside of any LOOP or conditionals. Then start adding variable/conditional IF statement (again avoid the complication of a loop for now). Also, for now and for testing/learning purposes... change the value of a variable (your Index for example), but not by using User TextInput. See if that helps the code to work. If so, then you can focus on TextInput ojbect's properties settings --- the checkbox options for when the variable is updated.

Unfortunately, you will have a tedious process of publishing in order to test and verify (as you've already discovered, and as help files advise, rather than simply 'Preview' to test).

If I wanted to start using Flex type output now, I would be going through this same 'discovery process'.

Good luck. Keep at it.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group