Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 22nd, 2024, 11:25 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: February 9th, 2012, 11:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Has anyone had a problem where a "wait" command in a script sometimes doesn't
count and the procedure doesn't advance? :?

Very frustrating. :cry:

Cheers

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: February 10th, 2012, 5:30 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Mike,

My "waits" have always been reliable, but my logic has fallen down from time to time.

I think you'll have to be more specific. Also, are you finding this is Preview and Publised works? Are you using Flex type by chance?

Where have you placed your wait() command? (in a loop, after an if-test, etc...)
Were you using a "return;" command?
etc
etc

Are you still on Opus 7.6?

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: February 10th, 2012, 11:41 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry,

Thanks for the reply.
This is the relevant code.
This particular page hasn't caused me problems (yet)
but another page exactly the same (see attached) some times hangs
at wait(70) ;

What happens is a music page appears with instructions for the start.
e.g. 2 bars kit. and a MIDI file plays.

This is briefly displayed. wait(4) ;
and then hidden.

The page is stationary whilst the music is played wait(70) ;and then the music starts to scroll.

As the music scrolls commands appear to allow the musician to move
music up or down in case the scrolling is too fast/slow.

Code:
function DoScroll_or_Advance()
{
var MFchildren = MultiFrame_1.GetNumberChildren() ;
var theGoFrame =  MFchildren - framecounter ;
var butStatus = Buttonplus ;
var butStatus1 = Buttonminus ;
wait(4) ;
drumObject.Hide() ;
wait(70) ;
ClicktomoveObject.Show() ;
Buttonplus.Show() ;
Buttonminus.Show() ;


Attachment:
opuslarry.png


I haven't tried published items - they might be OK.
It's also possible that some housekeeping process or
virus checker is kicking in when the script runs.

Opus 7.6 yup - I haven't noticed an upgrade.

Kind regards


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: February 11th, 2012, 11:06 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
It's also possible that some housekeeping process or virus checker is kicking in when the script runs.

It's hard to say what is going wrong for you here. One thing you can try is to eliminate any USB peripherals, wifi/wireless, even Ethernet network, bluetooth or wireless mice/keyboards, etc, etc. Only a very slim chance that is an issue, but easy enough to try (if the problem with the Pub is appearing consistently and is not elusive/intermittent).

Another hardware thing is RAM. If your main power supply is going-out, or other system internals issues, spikes could cause gitches on the bus. I doubt that Opus would be the only problem app though in that case.

As for your code and timing... certainly looks straight-forward. But what are these...?
Code:
var butStatus = Buttonplus ;
var butStatus1 = Buttonminus ;
For example, do you have an object named 'Buttonplus' and also a variable named 'Buttonplus'? That would be a 'no-no'.

Beyond that or this, we could question at length what else is happening in the OS and drivers.
Oh, and depending how/where you have set up your Actions (eg, standard actions and using the 'exclusive' option, transistions on objects, etc) --- events could get out of synch, or be prevented from running when you expect them.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: February 11th, 2012, 8:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry
Thanks for the comments.

There are lots of extras on the PC and that could be the problem.

The code works fine.
Most of the pages just play and that's great. :lol:

I haven't tried these additions in the Toshibas the musos use yet so , maybe :twisted: ,
there won't be a problem.

I'll keep you posted. Thanks for the help.
Regards

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: July 9th, 2012, 10:35 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry

We'll be putting these to the test on Wednesday for our first performance using this system.

"Belt and braces" we'll also have the paper music nearby. :oops:

It's taken forever to have the displays running correctly. They worked fine on my developing machine.
I then corrected for my Toshiba laptops which have a slower processor and different graphics card.
I then added the touch pen (USB) and had to alter the speed again and finally altered the speed after
adding the monitors which are necessary as they are 300 cd/m2 as distinct from the somewhat older
laptops and not easy to see in bright light.

I still get the occasional halt on the programme when a "wait" command seems to decide for itself and scrolling
doesn't start when required. Interestingly,if the page is restarted it usually works OK.
I've found that putting "silly" values in reduces the problem - wait (1.7); wait (23.4); etc.

I do wish that Microsoft would provide the facility to remove "housekeeping". I don't need to know that my
wireless connection is disconnected (I'm not using the damned thing!) or that there is an update
for this that and the other or that my firewall is turned off when I know. :( :evil: :twisted:

If I can raise the money I might buy a couple of all-in-ones with touch screen and redevelop on there.

Ho Hum.

I'll be in touch, fingers toes and legs crossed.
Kind regards

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: July 9th, 2012, 11:08 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Kingell wrote:
I do wish that Microsoft would provide the facility to remove "housekeeping".


I wonder what Microsoft wish for...

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/maga ... 92018.aspx

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


For this message mackavi has been thanked by : Kingell


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: July 9th, 2012, 11:30 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
I then added the touch pen (USB) and had to alter the speed again and finally altered the speed after
adding the monitors which are necessary as they are 300 cd/m2 as distinct from the somewhat older
laptops and not easy to see in bright light.

I just bought a Bamboo Pen & Touch Input some months ago. While it itself works great, I disconnect it from the USB port when not in use -- as I think it interfered too much with my system response (2GHz laptop with MS wireless keyboard and mouse (connects tranceiver via USB).

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: October 29th, 2013, 1:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry
Long time - no comment. I hope you are well. :)

I eventually abandoned the computers and returned to paper performances.
The unreliability of the Toshiba laptops meant difficulties in performing. :x

Are you any good with java/html - some of it seems similar to Opus Script?

I'm trying on my website to have a compatible music player with all browsers/Ipads/Iphones/Android.
This appears to be a suitable piece of Java .js material:

http://mediafront.org/osmplayer/index.html#.Um-ZvHhFAdU

However, I just can't get it to play after many lines of copied material from various sites.

Here's the website page: (takes a while to load)
http://www.mikelockey.com/trial2.html

It will only work if I right click on the black rectangle - which of course you can't do
on lots of devices - and then select play.

I've tried various autoplay/autorun codes unsuccessfully. :cry:

I've joined Vimeo so I might get somewhere with that site.

Have you any ideas please or do you know someone who might help? :wink:

Regards

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: October 29th, 2013, 7:45 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Text reordered -- Kingell wrote:
Hi Larry
Long time - no comment. I hope you are well. :)
Are you any good with java/html - some of it seems similar to Opus Script?

I'm trying on my website to have a compatible music player with all browsers/Ipads/Iphones/Android.

However, I just can't get it to play after many lines of copied material from various sites.
Here's the website page: http://www.mikelockey.com/trial2.html
Have you any ideas please or do you know someone who might help? :wink:

This appears to be a suitable piece of Java .js material:
http://mediafront.org/osmplayer/index.html#.Um-ZvHhFAdU

Thanks Mike. 'Yes'... well. Or well-enough :roll:
But, 'no'... not so skilled with html, and zero with Java. But, Javascript & Opusscript are similar enough, yet JS style of coding and syntax throws me (for now).

For your "all browsers" question, you'll have to do some searching for a solution. Certainly I recommend you contact DW Sales and inquire about an upgrade to their next version of OpusPro -- it may have some output options that perfectly suit what you're trying to do.

Related -- here's a Search link that may help you get onto that Autoplay.
https://duckduckgo.com/?q=stackoverflow+video+autoplay

...glancing at a few of the results, it seems Apple/Safari precludes autoplay. You'll need to read deeper.

Looking at your Page Source, your video file is MP4. You might try other, more universal, formats initially. I do not have mp4 codecs on my Vista 32 laptop, so no-go here. For 'help', you can try posting in the Services Required area of the forum. Else there are websites that broker web-programmers and other skilled people -- I would bet your website solution would be simple and inexpensive.

btw, Right-click context menu does not give me a "Play" option.

Cheers,
Larry

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Last edited by Lar_123 on October 30th, 2013, 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: October 30th, 2013, 12:22 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry
Great to hear from you.
I'm glad you're still with us and brainstorming.
God bless and thanks for the advice.
Regards
Mike

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wait won't proceed (sometimes)
PostPosted: June 9th, 2014, 1:01 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Mackavi
Just spotted your reply about housekeeping.
Sorry I missed it before.
Thanks very much I'm on Windows 7 Professional so
I'll look it out.
Thanks once again.
Kind regards :D

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


For this message Kingell has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group