Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 22nd, 2024, 10:27 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Still does not work!
PostPosted: January 27th, 2010, 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Ok, I fixed the script as by the help tips.

The variable corresponding to the marker has its value changed to show the object. The clean button returns the variable baseline. I believe it is done right or not?

But the script on the page, which should show the object as the value of the
is not working, even putting the correct syntax.

I put the variable in the publication, so that all pages work with the page marker corresponding to the declared value, but there is something wrong!

Help, guys! I do not know how to fix it!


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 28th, 2010, 12:21 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
Ok, I fixed the script as by the help tips.
_ _ _ _ _ I do not think so. Maybe done on page 1 only.

Some questions as pointers... what to look for and learn.

1. When using an IF statement, what is the proper operator and syntax to use for EQUAL?

2. In your pub, when going from pg2 to pg3, what causes or triggers anything to update the marker objects on pg3 [edit: had said 'pg4']? When going from pg3 to pg4, same question for pg4. etc. etc.

3. In the script section below, what will cause Mst_RpConF_04 to show and at the same time cause Mst_RpConF_03 to show, (assuming they are supposed to show) etc etc.
Code:
if (    *assume some proper valid test condition here for marker 'true'*     )
  Mst_RpConF_01.Show()
}
else
  Mst_RpConF_01.Hide()
}


- - - - - - -
As a bit more advanced topic and hint, if you create a script object on a Master Page, then all the pages that use that MP will have that script available (and it will run when the Page opens (One caveat to that last statement: code inside a function in that MP script object will of course only run if the function is called) ). The advantage of this approach is that the code only needs to be maintained in one place. The disadvantage is that (for me) it opens up a chance of some errors if I do not have all the right objects or right variables in place on subsequent content pages that use that master page script.

Cheers,
Larry

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: A few explainning...
PostPosted: January 28th, 2010, 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Well, here's the reality.

There are 10 markers. Each one corresponding to your page in numerical order and also to the specific variable declared in the publication.

Page 01 has the red circle marker Mst_RpConF_01, which should activate when selected the answer on the test page 01, the variable VisMst_RpConF_01, whose initial value ( "0") should be changed to "1". If the User cancel the response by button clean, the variable VisMst_RpConF_01 returns its initial value to "0", end the red circle marker Mst_RpConF_01 is hidden. It may be true, or false, telling it to change the value, and on/off the red circle marker Mst_RpConF_01.

So if the variable value is "0", the red circle marker Mst_RpConF_01 is not shown. And if value is "1", the red circle marker Mst_RpConF_01 is shown.

The script on each page (or a master page) needs to check the value of the variable VisMst_RpConF_01 to show or not the red marker Mst_RpConF_01, each time the User goes to a new page, showing the question on page 01 has been answered or not .

I think I could do the same with the other red circle markers, corresponding to its variables. If the marker Mst_RpConF_01 has its functional variable, the same script can be used in other markers that will change the value of your variables the same way.

If the variable Mst_RpConF_01 show the status of checked the other pages, the same will happen with the other variables of publication as long as I follow the same pattern of programming.

The reasoning seems logical. As I have said, the business is to implement the script to the variable Mst_RpConF_01, which must have its value changed and checked on every page.

I continue to look for solutions ...

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 28th, 2010, 11:02 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
The reasoning seems logical. As I have said, the business is to implement the script to the variable Mst_RpConF_01, which must have its value changed and checked on every page.
I continue to look for solutions ...
Logical enough.
There are many ways to accomplish a thing. You chose one and you are on your way with it. (OpusPro v7 has a new feature for 'quiz lock out' once a set is answered).

Some review:
-- for your IF Statements, == is the right syntax.
-- (in your design) a script action needs to be on every page, or alternatively make one common to a Master Page as described above.
-- you will need scripted if statements for each Mst_RpConF_nn (you were only doing _01 )


regarding
Quote:
I think I could do the same with the other red circle markers, corresponding to its variables.
Yes. You have now answered your much earlier question ("Why is that the variables are not working?").

regarding
Quote:
If the marker Mst_RpConF_01 has its functional variable, the same script can be used in other markers that will change the value of your variables the same way.
I do not understand correctly, but as long as you are clear that is what matters.

Quote:
the business is to implement the script to the variable Mst_RpConF_01, which must have its value changed and checked on every page.
It seems to me that that is wrong logic. You would 'change' Mst_RpConF_01 on page 1, and change Mst_RpConF_03 on page 3, etc. Then every page reads and uses all values xxx_01 to xxx_10 or more.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Not yet...
PostPosted: January 30th, 2010, 12:50 am 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Lar_123, thanks for your tips and did not leave me in this difficult task ...


Quote:
-- for your IF Statements, == is the right syntax.

== ou >=?
Anyway, none of the two forms in the script work ...

Quote:
-- (in your design) a script action needs to be on every page, or alternatively make one common to a Master Page as described above.

But the script is there, on page 01 and page 02 ... where do I check if the function VisMst_RpConF_01 is working. But this is not working, so why I have to implement the script on the remaining pages?

Quote:
-- you will need scripted if statements for each Mst_RpConF_nn (you were only doing _01 )


Yes all 10 variables corresponding to the 10 markers will be checked with pages, but not yet implanted why I could not do work the first variable VisMst_RpConF_01, corresponding to the marker Mst_RpConF_01.

If the first variable not working, why try with the other variables? Would only increase the size of the script and confusion would be even greater.

So the question that can not shut up: What's wrong?

The script on pages 01 and 02 do not check the changed value of the variable, or variable VisMst_RpConF_01 really is not being changed when the corresponding marker Mst_RpConF_01 on page 01 is shown?

How do I fix this?

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 30th, 2010, 4:22 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
If the first variable not working, why try with the other variables? ....But this is not working, so why I have to implement the script on the remaining pages?

Well... because..... that was your question posted a few days ago.
Quote:
I think I could do the same with the other red circle markers, corresponding to its variables. If the marker Mst_RpConF_01 has its functional variable, the same script can be used in other markers that will change the value of your variables the same way.
You wanted to know why the marker for page two was not showing up.

I am not going to solve this for you.

You have all the pieces in discussion preceding.

My assessment: you are I think setting the variable correctly when a single Quiz page has been 'visited'. You are NOT checking properly ALL the variables for ALL the markers on every subsequent page. So just go complete your project.

Sidenote. There are other ways to accomplish a task. But since you have gone so far, it may not make sense to 'backtrack' and reinvent. You are close to getting it working.


Quote:
== ou >=?
I am surprised you are not focusing well on this. Let me attempt to explain.

In an IF STATEMENT, the expressions that follow will be executed if the statement is true. Without going into all the details...

there are several commonly used 'structures' for an if statement.

-- posing a value which is not zero and not negative. (will be interpreted as 'true'

-- something that is evaluated as Boolean 'true'

specific expressions or conditions:
-- a variable is EQUAL TO a certain value
for example, myVar02 == 45
notice the double equal sign
that is a necessary thing in an if statement attempting to establish equality

-- you can also have:
GT so: >
GE so: >=
LT so: <
LE so: <=

Quote:
== ou >=?

Please spend 7 minutes in the Help files for OpusScript: Search >>> comparison operators
Quote:
Comparison Operators:
A comparison operator compares the left hand side of the equal sign with the right hand side of the equal sign and returns a logical value of true or false based on whether the comparison matches or does not match. You can compare numerical or string values.

Strict equality does not permit the automatic conversion of types so with normal equals the text 2 and a number 2 would be equal but with strict equality they would not.


Symbol
Meaning
Example

==
Equals
if (2 == 2)

===
Strict equals
if ("2"==="2")

!=
Not Equal
if (3 != 2)

<
Less than
if (2 < 3 )

>
Greater than
if (3 > 2)

<=
Less than or equal to
if (2 <= 2)

>=
Greater than or equal to





Does anyone else have any helpful suggestions here? Maybe I have a blindspot as to what will help?

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Uau! Finally...
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2010, 3:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Dear Larry,

Thanks for your patience with my stubbornness, I was able to achieve the goal.

After some changes in the script and complete the project... Unbelievable! The markers worked! Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeees!!!!!!!!!!!!

Man, words fail me to express my joy! Thanks, guys for the valuable tips!

Greatifull!!!!

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2010, 9:45 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Nillson, Congrats! You perservered through it and got rewarded.

It is good you worked through it yourself (with a few tips). This way you have both a sense of accomplishment and will have self-capability to maintain and improve your publication. Good work.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group