Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 22nd, 2024, 9:04 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Check if 64-bit OS
PostPosted: July 16th, 2010, 3:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 25th, 2008, 4:57 pm
Posts: 355
Location: Ireland
Opus: Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10
System: MacBook Pro (Intel 2020)
I use the system variable to find out the operating system:
<SYSTEM_OPERATING_SYS>

But is there a way to find out if the end user is using 64 or 32 bit version of the OS. I have found that with Windows 7, most new computers are now coming preloaded with 64-bit. I would like to check so I know which version. Also things like Windows on screen keyboard OSK.exe doesn't work if accessed through a 32-bit app on a 64-bit OS.

Thanks, LMC.

_________________
Opus Pro 9.75 on MacBookPro (2020 Intel) running Parallels 19 with Windows 10 (x64)


For this message lmc has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Check if 64-bit OS
PostPosted: July 16th, 2010, 11:24 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
LMC,

There was a recent post and exchange by Linda and Mackavi I think... on 32-bit vs 64-bit client systems. Might search for that.

I think Mack suggested testing for the presence of a file.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Check if 64-bit OS
PostPosted: July 18th, 2010, 5:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 25th, 2008, 4:57 pm
Posts: 355
Location: Ireland
Opus: Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10
System: MacBook Pro (Intel 2020)
Thanks, I will take a look.

The post is:
http://www.digitalgrapevine.info/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=4128

_________________
Opus Pro 9.75 on MacBookPro (2020 Intel) running Parallels 19 with Windows 10 (x64)


For this message lmc has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Check if 64-bit OS
PostPosted: July 19th, 2010, 10:15 am 
Offline

Joined: May 25th, 2008, 4:57 pm
Posts: 355
Location: Ireland
Opus: Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10
System: MacBook Pro (Intel 2020)
This simple bit of code will work too, see attached publication.

Code:
if(SYSTEM_PROGRAMS_DIR == "C:\\Program Files (x86)\\")
{
Debug.trace("64");
}

else
{
Debug.trace("32");
}



Basically it checks what the Program Files folder is called, only 64bit Windows have the Program Files (x86) folder.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Opus Pro 9.75 on MacBookPro (2020 Intel) running Parallels 19 with Windows 10 (x64)


For this message lmc has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group