Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 22nd, 2024, 9:11 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: July 30th, 2010, 4:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Based on the example posted by master Sandyn, in this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3606&hilit=CountDown - file UpDown.zip

I tried to adapt the countdown to my needs. But my script for the countdown does not work!

My problem began with a string of minutes you need to show the values of tens and units. The counter variable (Countdown) was set to 12 minutes - 720 seconds. I think the problem is present in this line of script, in start button, which could not equalize properly.
ClockSecs = (TenMins * 6) + (Mins * 10) +10 * TenSecs + Secs + (Tenths/10) + (Hun/100)

Additionally, the variable TimeLeft attached to the start button, with events that show messages as time runs out, is the initial value "0" all the time.

I am posting the imp file for analysis.

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : Clive Cartmel, mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 9:22 am 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 3:03 pm
Posts: 540
Location: Tyalgum Creek. Australia
Opus: Opus Pro Latest version 9.02 Build 16458
OS: Won 10
System: Asus laptop Intel Core i5 8 gig ram, big monitor, reading glasses
Hi Nilson

I have no idea what you are doing wrong - sorry.

Steve Henson created a countdown clock using scripting in 2006

You will find the details here

viewtopic.php?f=13&t=1698

Would be worth a look I recon

Cheers

Graham

_________________
Too much coffee can result in frequent toilet breaks!


For this message Graham Baglin has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: July 31st, 2010, 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Graham, thanks for the support.

I tried using the example of Sandyn why I need a counter attached to the clock variable "clock_var" whose running time is shown to the user to final publication. Counter and clock must be paused when the user navigates changing the pages of the publication, forward and backward, while messages that warn the user that their time is running out when the clock reaches predetermined minutes.

Thanks to patience and teachings of great minds here at this forum, such as Osni, Mackavi, Lar_123 and Sandyn, I learned to believe in the infinite possibilities of object-oriented programming and Opus software enables full intregração in videos, animations and graphic design to this schedule in scripts.

Congratulations to the excellent work. I will examine a few more chances, make some new tests to find a way all this works. I traveled a long journey and I is not stopping now.

Thanks and good luck!

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 12:18 am 
Offline

Joined: May 16th, 2008, 4:50 pm
Posts: 368
Location: Berghem The Netherlands
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10
System: `HP
Hi Nilson,

I use a count up / down script i had from Sandy and it works good.
Maybe this examples helps you further.

Kind regards,


Ad

_________________
Opus Pro v9.75
Windows 10 on HP EliteBook i7
http://www.csnmedia.nl


For this message Ad Mulders has been thanked by : mackavi


Last edited by Ad Mulders on August 1st, 2010, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 1:36 am 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
CSNMedia, thanks for the post. Great job! I liked the functions converttime and two digit (n), but still do not see a way to adapt these functions in my publication.

I'm still stuck because I could not go much further. I did not understand why until now the buttons to pause and continue, as the reset, while the start and stop are giving some feedback.

Likewise, when the counter reaches the first predetermined time (600), everything there and the script does not give sequence to the objects that need to be shown ...

Actually, I need much help! Follow the imp file for analysis ...

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 10:14 am 
Offline

Joined: May 16th, 2008, 4:50 pm
Posts: 368
Location: Berghem The Netherlands
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10
System: `HP
Hi Nilson,
In what kind of publication do you want to use the count down?
The example i posted counts up and down without a problem so what do you need?

Ad

_________________
Opus Pro v9.75
Windows 10 on HP EliteBook i7
http://www.csnmedia.nl


For this message Ad Mulders has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 1st, 2010, 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
My publication is a quiz with 30 questions, with free shipping at the pages, forward and backward, where the clock with the clock_var variable that determines the total time must be attached to a countdown timer, where both are paused in the range of exchange pages by the user. Likewise, these two items are paused when specific messages must be shown alerting the user that the end time is ending.

The example of sandyn seemed more plausible to work on top of scripts attached to clock_var variable, with control buttons that time, whose scripts can be applied to the navigation buttons of my publication ... but something is missing here, I believe to be the sum of the strings in the variable clockseconds .... but do not know how to fix it yet ...

I appreciate the support ...

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2010, 9:58 am 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 3:03 pm
Posts: 540
Location: Tyalgum Creek. Australia
Opus: Opus Pro Latest version 9.02 Build 16458
OS: Won 10
System: Asus laptop Intel Core i5 8 gig ram, big monitor, reading glasses
NilsonBrasil wrote:
My publication is a quiz with 30 questions, with free shipping at the pages, ...


Hi NIlson

Thank you for your kind comments - much appreciated.

Have quoted part of your reply - do you mean free shipping or free stopping? I think you mean that the student should be able to stop at any question and in doing so, the clock stops and when starting again, the clock restarts at the elapsed stop time?

Is this correct, or have I misunderstood what you have said?

Cheers

Graham

_________________
Too much coffee can result in frequent toilet breaks!


For this message Graham Baglin has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2010, 12:51 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
I read that as 'free navigation of pages... backward and forward'.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 2nd, 2010, 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Thanks for replies and excuse me for not expressing myself correctly. I'll try to explain ...

When I talked about free shipping, wanted to mention that the user can go back and forward in 30 pages of questions as it wishes, leaving the most difficult - that questions he does not know the answer for later. The buttons back and forward (which can be clicked by the user as he navigates between pages) act as a pause, because there are several elements on the page that need to be loaded when it changes from one page to another (text question and answers, buttons of navigation, confirmation, clock variables etc ...).

That comes my need to pause both elements - Variable clock and countdown timer when the user clicks the button gotoforward or in the button gotobackward. As all elements are loaded on the next page OnShow, both counters continue to count time. Therefore, the scripts on the buttons to pause and continue (in the case of this example posted) need work, as well as scripts for the messages in start button to be displayed at the correct time, alerting the user of how long until your test is finished.

So Graham and Lar, this is the idea. Thanks for your interest and I'll awaiting a possible solution ...

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2010, 8:22 am 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2004, 6:54 am
Posts: 130
Location: Hengelo, The Netherlands
Opus: 8.5/9.0
OS: Windows 7 64-bits, Android 2.1, Android 4.1.2, iOS 7
System: Pentium 7i, 6GB RAM, 750GB HD, DVD-RW (+/-), DV, 3TB EHD, 3D monitor without glasses
Hello Nilson,

I've solved your problem!
You were using text boxes named 00Mins, 01Mins, 05Mins, 10Mins.
The script doesn't accept variables (read textboxes) starting with a number.
So I changed the names of the text boxes 00Mins, 01Mins, 05Mins, 10Mins into a00Mins, a01Mins, a05Mins, a10Mins.
I also changed 00Mins, 01Mins, 05Mins, 10Mins in your script into a00Mins, a01Mins, a05Mins, a10Mins.

Then the count down works.
Only the pause button doesn't work.
At this moment I don't know why.

_________________
Oscar Nijst
ON Education & Consultancy
Hengelo, The Netherlands
OPUS Pro 9.5
Pentium 7i, 16GB RAM, 1 TB HD, DVD-RW (+/-), DV, 3TB EHD, 3D monitor without glasses


For this message osni has been thanked by : mackavi, NilsonBrasil


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 3rd, 2010, 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Osni, thanks for the post. I'll change the scripts in my files to see this works.

About the problem of pause and continue, I believe it has something to do with the sum wrong of variable clockseconds, which I'm not getting equalize properly. In sandyn example, the script worked properly with a string showing a unit of minutes, but my publication works with two units - for the total time is 30 minutes ... :shock: :?:

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 4th, 2010, 5:33 am 
Offline

Joined: December 13th, 2008, 3:15 pm
Posts: 152
Location: Brasil
Opus: 7
OS: Windows 7 x64
System: Asus P5Q3 Deluxe, Core 2 Duo E8500, 8 Gb DDR3 1333 mhz, His IceQ5 5770 HD Graphic Card, Samsung T220 Monitor; Lenovo G550 T6600, 4 GB DDR3 - 15,6".
Well, I tried every way to adapt the script. This Imp file is more complete, but still with the problem

in the sum of the strings in variable Clocksecs. When the counter reaches one minute, variable timeleft mad, returning to start value ...

I think the problem is the sum of the strings TenMins and Mins ... but do not know how to fix this.

If TimeLeft not working properly, the clock will not be indexed as it should and the messages will not be shown correctly ...

By the way, I will still need lots of help of partners ... I'll be waiting for a solution.

_________________
"To the ignorant, old age is the winter of life, for the wise, is the season of harvest."
It is not easy to translate the world into a binary code of 0s and 1s, but in scripts, anything is possible!


For this message NilsonBrasil has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 4th, 2010, 8:28 am 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 3:03 pm
Posts: 540
Location: Tyalgum Creek. Australia
Opus: Opus Pro Latest version 9.02 Build 16458
OS: Won 10
System: Asus laptop Intel Core i5 8 gig ram, big monitor, reading glasses
Hi again Nilson

I don't have the knowledge to help you with the script - sorry about that.

But I do have many years experience as an educator both in Australia and China.

If this were my test, I would allow a certain amount of time for the test to be completed without worrying whether or not the student wants to trawl backwards and forwards through the pages.

Obviously the time required needs to take many things into consideration but at the end of the day you reach a stage where no matter how long a time, a student who does not know the content will never complete the test so no amount of additional time will help that kind of student. I think you need to set a time which allows the slower students time to complete the test assuming the slower students know how to answer the questions.

Whenever I set an exam or test, I try to place the easiest questions first and increase the difficulty as the exam progresses with the most difficult questions at the end but in doing this am constantly surprised by students who cannot do the easy questions but who excel with the difficult questions, so whether this is the way to go, I don't know.

I assume your test questions are sequential that is that the questions are in order. If this is the case, you could try ranking the questions in order of difficulty (and if possible getting a learned colleague to rank your questions as well - so you can compare and adjust if necessary) and put the easiest questions first. That should cut down on the amount of question searching.

I would by all means allow a quantum of time to complete the test, but I'm wondering if there is any value in pausing and allowing students to flip backwards and forwards between questions . Building in the same time allowance for everyone doing your test so that some backwarding and forwarding could occur would, in my opinion be a better idea otherwise you could be creating a situation where a student decides to look at all the questions before answering any.

If the purpose of your test is answer orientated rather than answer / time pressure orientated, this this would be the easiest way to construct the test in my opinion.

After all, you really want to know if the student can work out the answer on their own - if they can then they are competent, if not - well, time won't help much unless you don;t give them enough time.

To quote an often used phrase "Hope this helps" :-)

Cheers

Graham

_________________
Too much coffee can result in frequent toilet breaks!


For this message Graham Baglin has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: What's wrong here? - CountDown fail
PostPosted: August 4th, 2010, 9:48 am 
Offline

Joined: November 5th, 2004, 6:54 am
Posts: 130
Location: Hengelo, The Netherlands
Opus: 8.5/9.0
OS: Windows 7 64-bits, Android 2.1, Android 4.1.2, iOS 7
System: Pentium 7i, 6GB RAM, 750GB HD, DVD-RW (+/-), DV, 3TB EHD, 3D monitor without glasses
Hello Nilson,

Your script for ClockSecs wasn't correct.
For the minutes you have to multiply with 60.
For the ten minutes you have to multiply with 600.

The correct script is:
Code:
ClockSecs=(TenMins*600)+(Mins*60)+(TenSecs*10)+Secs+(Tenths/10)+(Hun/100)


You also have to change the script on the buttons PAuse, Continue, Stop and Reset.

If you use this script it will work fine.

For your TimeLeft textbox its better to use Left Justification. It looks smoother then Centre Justification.

Best regards,

_________________
Oscar Nijst
ON Education & Consultancy
Hengelo, The Netherlands
OPUS Pro 9.5
Pentium 7i, 16GB RAM, 1 TB HD, DVD-RW (+/-), DV, 3TB EHD, 3D monitor without glasses


For this message osni has been thanked by : mackavi, NilsonBrasil


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 42 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group