Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently May 21st, 2024, 1:13 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 6th, 2016, 5:01 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Has anyone tried to implement speech synthesis (text to speech) in an Opus HTML5 pub?

As far as I know speech synthesis currently only works in a Chrome browser.

Here's an online demo: https://codepen.io/matt-west/pen/wGzuJ

Looks very useful to improve accessibility (for example, for visually impaired users) but I don't have a clue how to get it working in an Opus HTML5 pub (or if it even can work?).

_________________
Stephen


For this message Stephen has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 7th, 2016, 9:06 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Rule #11 - There is no box: http://www.live.interaktiv.co.uk/?article=tips

1. Create an Opus Text Input with the variable 'mySpeech'
2. Create an Opus button with an Opus Script Action and add the following code:

Code:
window.msg = new SpeechSynthesisUtterance(window._DWPub.mySpeech);
window.speechSynthesis.speak(window.msg);

3. Publish. Chrome Only!


Enter text, click button & enjoy flashback to 80's Speak and Spell.

</mack>

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 7th, 2016, 12:44 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Hi Mack,

Thanks for this.

Yes, the voice is a little mechanical, robotic. Also have noticed with any implementation that I've tried (not just using Opus) that the first time the speech synthesis screen opens, the first word or so is cut off (it picks up in the middle of the text). Then if played again, it speaks successfully from the beginning. I wonder if this is a glitch in Google's speech engine? Need to figure out a work around.

Found some online materials to customize voices, etc. (for example, here: http://blog.teamtreehouse.com/getting-s ... thesis-api), but so far, can't seem to correctly script to change the default voice to another voice.

_________________
Stephen


For this message Stephen has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 11:48 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Because of the way Opus exports JS, it is sometimes necessary to move more complex functions to an external JS file and just call them passing parameters from Opus.

In an external file:
Code:
function googleSpeak(mySayWhat,myVoiceName){
  var msg = new SpeechSynthesisUtterance(mySayWhat);
  msg.voice = speechSynthesis.getVoices().filter(function(voice) { return voice.name == myVoiceName; })[0];
  speechSynthesis.speak(msg);
}


Then call the function from a standard Opus Script Action or Object:
Code:
window.googleSpeak("hello world","Google UK English Male");


Note:
Not stable - API seemed okay for voices but crashed on changing other voice settings.
Again Chrome (maybe Android) only. Coming to Firefox 49 apparently.
Although this is open standard, will Google focus on their Cloud Voice tech instead?

</mack>

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 8th, 2016, 1:19 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Thanks, Mack.

Did try this as suggested (created an external JS-"speech.js"-with this function, placed it in the published folder, linked it in the publish settings "head" section with <script src="speech.js"></script>, and called it using a button with the function call in an Opus script object), but didn't work. Must have done something wrong.

May be related to Google speech synthesis bug, see: http://code.tutsplus.com/tutorials/let- ... -cms-24971
specific remedy (run get voices more than once):
Code:
// Tell Chrome to wake up and get the voices.
speechSynthesis.getVoices();

setTimeout(function () {
    // After 1 second, get the voices now Chrome is listening.
    speechSynthesis.getVoices().forEach(function (voice) {
      console.log('Hi! My name is ', voice.name);
    });
}, 1000);


Will keep trying to get it to work.

BTW Thank you for mentioning FireFox 49 speech synthesis which will be fully implemented (due for public release 9/13/16). I tried out the BETA, and unfortunately speech synthesis at this pre-release time is as buggy as the Google version. Hope it improves.

_________________
Stephen


For this message Stephen has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Speech Synthesis
PostPosted: September 14th, 2016, 1:04 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
An update on Speech Synthesis:

Spent a few days trying different strategies, work-a round's, researching online. An apparent bug for changing voices in Chrome is best worked around by changing voices within an onvoiceschanged function, calling it twice: once on the first page as onShow,

Code:
window.speechSynthesis.onvoiceschanged = function() {
voices = window.speechSynthesis.getVoices();
}

then, on the second page, within a button, within (for my project's purposes) a loop until page changes, this time setting the new voice as default.
Code:
window.msg = new SpeechSynthesisUtterance(window._DWPub.mySpeech);
window.speechSynthesis.onvoiceschanged = function() {
    voices = window.speechSynthesis.getVoices();
}
window.msg.voice = voices.filter(function(voice) { return voice.name == 'Google UK English Female'; })[0];
window.msg.rate = .6;
window.speechSynthesis.speak(window.msg);

Works well. :)

_________________
Stephen


For this message Stephen has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group