Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently October 1st, 2024, 10:32 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QTVR - HOTSPOT Functions
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 12:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Have dived into the new QTVR features and I am quickly drowning
I have created a QTVR with 3 hotspots numbered 1 -3.
I want the pub to jump to another page when the hotspot is clicked

So
I cut and pasted the sample script from the help file

(I tried the display hotspot info , show object on the same page as well as the gotopage action)

but none worked
in fact the script dialogue box reads "Expression contains erros" even before I try to edit the sample code.

When I put either example below into a script action or script object -and try to preview

I get

Script 1[1] : Errors parsing script

Text Expr (1, 0) : Undefined identifier 'HSObject'

Anyone got any ideas?

Pete

:oops:

>>>>>>

From the OpusScript help - script samples:


SetHotspotCallback()

Example 1:

To display hotspot information from a QuickTime VR object called qtvr without affecting it's functions:

qtvr.SetHotspotCallback(HSCallback)
function HSCallback(HSObject)
{
Debug.trace("Hotspot ID = (" + HSObject.nID + ", " + HSObject.nNodeID + ")\n")
return false; // Allow the normal function of the hotspot
}

Example 2:

To show an object called someObject when a specific hotspot is activated in a QuickTime VR object called qtvr:

qtvr.SetHotspotCallback(HSCallback)
function HSCallback(HSObject)
{
if ((HSObject.nID == 0) && (HSObject.nNodeID == 0)
{
someObject.Show()
return true; // We handled it so prevent the hotspot doing anything else
}
else
{
return false; // Allow the normal function of the hotspot
}
}


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 10:49 am 
Offline

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 11:01 am
Posts: 21
Location: Banbury, UK
Sorry to hear you're having problems with this. unfortunately I can't see anything wrong with your code and the help file is correct. testing the code with our own resources works fine apart from one little problem
the second code snippet has a syntax error in it...

on the line
if ((HSObject.nID == 0) && (HSObject.nNodeID == 0)

you need another ')' on the end.

Try is the QTVR demo publication which came with your version of XE. if that works then we know that it's not a problem with opus.

most likely it's just special formatting characters that have copied across from the help file to your script causing syntax errors in the code.

delete your code completely and run the publication making sure that nothing else is causing an error.

then manually type the code snippet again.

please let me know how you get on.

_________________
Alan Dews
Senior Developer
Digital Workshop


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: QTVR
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 11:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Alan

That code (minus the extra')') was copied directly from the help file
there was no extra ')'
I typed this in but I still get an
Expression contains errors message
in the pane below the script input area

Tried the samples (didn't think to look for any) and they work
but I want to jump to another page in Opus - not another scene in the
QTVR

Regards

Pete :oops:


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 12:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 11:01 am
Posts: 21
Location: Banbury, UK
okay we will update the help file.

next thing to try is to see if your movie is causing the problem.
Try changing the sample qtvr objects file to your qtvr movie and see if that works - it might be an authoring problem

also have you tried typing out the code or copying the code from the sample instead? (QTVR Utilising Hotspots with scripting->Hotspot callback script object)

if you copy the script object from the sample
change the script replacing the instance of 'QuicktimeVR_Movie' to the name of your qtvr movie (remember to replace spaces with '_' in your object name)

create two page variables, NodeID and HotspotID

now on your page add a variable changed trigger<HotspotID>
add an if action
Code:
    if <Hotspot>=1


inside the if add a gotopage action and pick the page to go to when you click on hotspot 1.

e.g.
Code:
   if <Hotspot>=1
        GotoPage(Page2)


hope this helps.

_________________
Alan Dews
Senior Developer
Digital Workshop


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Replaced the sample qtvr with one of mine

the Node ID and
Hotspot ID display boxes work
in that clicking on the hotspots in my qtvr updates the 2 page variables
you created in your sample

I added a trigger "on show" action to the Display hotspot Information frame
and selected an
if
HotspotID=1 then
Gotopage.... action
Nothing happens???????

:oops:

Pete


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 12:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
Pete Smithies wrote:
I added a trigger "on show" action to the Display hotspot Information frame
and selected an
if
HotspotID=1 then
Gotopage.... action
Nothing happens???????


An On Show trigger isn't going to work, as the HotspotID hasn't changed yet. Try replacing the On Show trigger with a Variable Changed trigger which monitors the HotspotID variable. For example:

Code:
Variable Changed <HotspotID>
   If (HotspotID == 1) then
      Go To Page 2


Please let me know how you get on.

Kind regards,

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: QTVR
PostPosted: November 30th, 2004, 1:01 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
:D :D :D :D :D :D :D

You people are the best!


Thanks

Pete


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Roll over Hot spot ID
PostPosted: March 24th, 2005, 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Is it possible to rollover a hotspot in a QTVR and generate an action?

At the moment I have to click on the movie - which then activates the script to update the Hotspot ID variable.

Regards

Pete


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: QTVR Hotspot Rollovers
PostPosted: March 30th, 2005, 8:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Stumped everyone have I

:cry: :cry: :cry:

Pete


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 30th, 2005, 12:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
As far as I am aware, hotspots in a QuickTime VR movie are only responsive to mouse clicks and cannot be triggered via mouse-overs. This would therefore appear to be a limitation of the QuickTime VR format, although you may wish to check the documentation supplied with your QuickTime VR authoring tool to see mouse-overs are possible.

If the QuickTime VR could transmit its HotspotID information from a mouse over, Opus' Variable Changed trigger would respond to this information without any modifications to your existing code.

Kind regards,

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 30th, 2005, 3:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Thanks Robin

I will check and get back

Pete :wink:


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 31st, 2005, 4:57 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: November 4th, 2004, 5:04 pm
Posts: 310
Location: New Zealand
Opus: Evolution 8.5
OS: Windows 7 Professional
System: AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1055T Processor 2.80GHz
Got a reply from VRWorx ref Hotspot Triggers - see below

As I understand it - the QTVR call function uses the Hotspot ID trigger
Mouse click - but as the cursor changes when in rollover mode
calling the mouse over state should be possible?

Is this a wishlist request?

:roll: :roll: :roll:

Regards
Peter

REPLY FROM VRWORX>>>>>>>>

Hello Peter,

As I'm sure you've realized, it is not possible to accomplish a
mouse-over trigger using our tool. I only know of a few tools that have
this capability.

VR Hotwires allows you to create a mouse-over event which triggers a
pop-up box of text to become visible over the hotspot area. This tools
has many other capabilities as well. (OS 9 and OX)

LiveStage Pro gives you the capability of referencing the hotspot as
well as many other functions. (Mac and PC)

Director has this capability as well, I believe, with the use of some
Lingo. (Mac and PC)

I'm sure there are more options out there that I'm not aware of.

Support @ VRWorx


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group