Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 30th, 2025, 11:05 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 4th, 2010, 3:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
That would really be appreciated.

Thank you very much, Linda

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


For this message Linda has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 11:49 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Morning Linda,

I ran this on XP, Vista & W7 and it works :

Code:
var myFile = SYSTEM_PUBLICATION_DIR+"\powerpoint\\gmi01.pps"

if (FileExists("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office11\\PPTVIEW.EXE"))
{
LaunchFile("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office11\\PPTVIEW.EXE",myFile)
} else if (FileExists("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\PPTVIEW.EXE"))
{
LaunchFile("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\PPTVIEW.EXE",myFile)
} else
{
Debug.trace('Viewer Not Found')
}


EXCEPT in the following situations:

1. Where the path has a space
2. Under a 64bit OS accessing the 32bit viewer or PowerPoint

Both of which can be scripted for if a problem.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
Mack, many thanks.

One question: I'm presuming that the launch button should JUST launch this script.

Therefore I should delete the If Else stuff depending on the operating system?

Thanks, Linda

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


For this message Linda has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 1:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
I can now answer that myself - it also needs the launch action as well as the script.

Otherwise it doesn't work on older XP pcs here.

Thanks for your help - I'll let the client loose on it now!

Linda

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


For this message Linda has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 2:03 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Not sure what you mean, but basically it should be a button with a trigger (such as left mouse) that runs the script on any version of Windows.

www.sandbox.interaktiv.co.uk/powerpoint.zip

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 2:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
Sorry Mack,

What I meant was that, for instance, your script doesn't work on my XP machine with Office 2000.

(In this instance, there's no viewer - slideshows are launched from Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office\Powerpnt.exe)

But if I also add a Launch action to just launch the file gmi01.pps, it works.

At the moment I've just got the script and the launch button on a left click action.

I'm trying to figure how to tell it to only use the launch action if the script doesn't work....

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


For this message Linda has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 5th, 2010, 3:34 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
I don't have Office 2000 installed but you could try replacing the code with this:
Code:
var myFile = SYSTEM_PUBLICATION_DIR+"\powerpoint\\gmi01.pps"

if (FileExists("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office\Powerpnt.exe"))
{
LaunchFile("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office\Powerpnt.exe",myFile)
} else if (FileExists("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office11\\PPTVIEW.EXE"))
{
LaunchFile("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office11\\PPTVIEW.EXE",myFile)
} else if (FileExists("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\PPTVIEW.EXE"))
{
LaunchFile("C:\\Program Files\\Microsoft Office\\Office12\\PPTVIEW.EXE",myFile)
} else
{
Debug.trace('Viewer Not Found')
}


Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group