Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 10th, 2025, 10:13 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Border size
PostPosted: March 1st, 2006, 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
I've got a vector object with a 2 pixel white border.

I want to animate this object (just a rectangle) so that it moves around the screen, changing it's width and height as it goes.

However, I don't want the border width to change.

Is there a vector shape anim command (like flash) or some other easy way to achieve this?

Thanks, Linda

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 1st, 2006, 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 26th, 2004, 1:26 pm
Posts: 262
Linda wrote:
<< I've got a vector object with a 2 pixel white border. >>


Hi Linda,

Or is it the actual vector with a border, or the polygon that has a 2 pixel outline pen width? ;)

Regardless of this, using stretch effect/scale seems to inadvertantly affect the outline thickness. Since you're using a vector, your best bet would be some simple OpusScript...

VectorName.SetObjectSize(300,300)

//the above sets the vector to 300 x 300 pixel size without affecting the pen outline or border width.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Cheers,
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 2nd, 2006, 12:07 am 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
Ok, that's a good start... now could you make that happen over a couple of seconds?

Smoothly.... :wink:

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: March 2nd, 2006, 4:53 am 
Offline

Joined: October 26th, 2004, 1:26 pm
Posts: 262
Hi Linda,

I don't think you can. :?

The SetObjectSize() does not seem to accept a time parameter.

SetScale() and Scale() will work but that then effects the border issue.

Hopefully some OpusScript guru can help here?

EDIT: OK, this may not be desirable, but is a bit of a workaround...
(surely there is a better way):?:

--------------------

var x=100 //original size width
var y=100 //original size height
while (y<=200) //size to reach
{
VectorName.SetObjectSize(x,y)
x+=1
y+=1
wait(0.01) //animation speed
}

_________________
Cheers,
Steve


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 76 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group