Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 11th, 2025, 11:53 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Check for internet connection / WMV in browser play issues
PostPosted: December 18th, 2008, 3:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 18th, 2008, 3:24 pm
Posts: 7
Description of project

I have built a module that can be downloaded as a small-medium sized file, whilst the videos remain online. They are played via a browser window embedded in the opus pro page. There is also a requirement for the trainee to email their data results back to us after they have finished the test.

I have not built this as a complete online module as I have no knowledge of web programming, html, servers etc. I can however build an Opus project as a standalone (the download module) which then uses a basic browser interface to play the video. The video is on web pages online. I have an excellent standard of OpusScript.

Version: Opus Pro XE v2.7 (2002)

Problem 1

I would like to know how to check if there is an internet connection, so that they cannot run the application unless it is there. An opening screen would be ideal. I need the internet there to play the videos and send the email.

Problem 2

WMV video playback in a browser - I have noticed when I go from question to question that the start of the WMV playback is problematic. It remains blank for say 2 seconds, then plays the video, but in a hurried frame rate for about 1-2 seconds, then resumes as normal. This has something to do with the way it is unpacking the video data for the browser from the WMV, because I switched it to a low resolution AVI and it doesn't happen any more. Is there a way to make the WMV play in a solid fashion every time?

Problem 3

I am interested to know if you can show a Windows Media Player object in a browser with the ability to frame by frame the video, using the View/Enhancements/Play Speed Settings automatically being put on screen, as it is otherwise unavailable as I amrestricting controls to the user.

Problem 4 / unrelated

I purchased the Opus software many years ago (2002). I have lost (or had stolen) my Illuminatus CD-ROMs and one manual for v2.7, is there a way to get replacements? I am not in the market to buy a newer version. I've still got one of the manuals and packaging!

The html code I use to put video in a browser

<html>
<head>
<style>
body{overflow: hidden;}
</style>
</head>
<body>
<OBJECT id="VIDEO" width="512" height="512"
style="position:absolute; left:0;top:0;"
CLASSID="CLSID:6BF52A52-394A-11d3-B153-00C04F79FAA6"
type="application/x-oleobject">
<PARAM NAME="URL" VALUE="C:\Program Files\xxxprojectxxx\Video\A01.avi">
<PARAM NAME="SendPlayStateChangeEvents" VALUE="True">
<PARAM NAME="AutoStart" VALUE="True">
<PARAM name="uiMode" value="full">
<PARAM name="enableContextMenu" value="false">
<PARAM name="PlayCount" value="1">
<PARAM name="stretchToFit" value="true">
<PARAM name="windowlessVideo" value="true">
</OBJECT>
</body>
</html)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 19th, 2008, 3:42 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Hi Steve,

I've never used XE2.7 but if it's available simply point the PostWebData action at a PHP script and have it return some mundane value. Alternatively, and with less finesse, use launch program to run a command line ping and read the data back into Opus.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 22nd, 2008, 4:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2005, 3:16 pm
Posts: 86
Opus: Opus Pro v9.75
OS: Windows 10.?
System: HP xw660 Server 32GB RAM, Toshiba Satellite Laptop
Steve,

I have some old manuals and CD ROMs in my loft. I'll look them out and see if they will be of any help. It will take me a few days to find them, so it might be after Christmas. Where are you located?

Paul

_________________
Opus 9.6
HP xw6600 Workstation, Intel64 , Intel(R) XEON(R) CPU E5430 2.7GHz, RAM 8GB, NVIDIA Quatro K600, Samsung SSD 840 Pro Series: 238.5GB , 2 x 1TB HDD, 2 x PnP Generic monitors
Living a long, healthy, happy & prosperous life!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: I've found them!!!
PostPosted: January 11th, 2009, 2:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 18th, 2005, 3:16 pm
Posts: 86
Opus: Opus Pro v9.75
OS: Windows 10.?
System: HP xw660 Server 32GB RAM, Toshiba Satellite Laptop
Steve Preston wrote:

Quote:
I purchased the Opus software many years ago (2002). I have lost (or had stolen) my Illuminatus CD-ROMs and one manual for v2.7, is there a way to get replacements? I am not in the market to buy a newer version. I've still got one of the manuals and packaging!

As promised, I've found both the 2002 version of Opus Illuminatus manuals and disks. You are very welcome to them. Please contact me via e-mail: pc_amethyst@yahoo.co.uk

_________________
Opus 9.6
HP xw6600 Workstation, Intel64 , Intel(R) XEON(R) CPU E5430 2.7GHz, RAM 8GB, NVIDIA Quatro K600, Samsung SSD 840 Pro Series: 238.5GB , 2 x 1TB HDD, 2 x PnP Generic monitors
Living a long, healthy, happy & prosperous life!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 19th, 2009, 9:03 am 
Offline

Joined: July 12th, 2009, 10:33 am
Posts: 124
I'll repost in advanced sec. PLease delete.


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group