Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 8th, 2025, 9:28 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Flashing
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 7:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi
I've added a script to a page which is activated "On show"
The actions say:
//Call this function
DoFlasher()

I've written a script as follows:
function DoFlasher()
{
WarningObject.Show()
Wait(0.3)
WarningObject.Hide()
}

I plan to repeat this several times before leaving it on.
I expect it's a syntax problem but it doesn't work. :oops:
Any ideas please :?:
Regards

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 27th, 2009, 11:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Nothing wrong with the syntax.
Make sure you use a script object when using functions...
See attached...


Paul


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 28th, 2009, 12:57 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Have you pasted your exact code here? (also, please use the code embedding tags to highlight code in the post).

If so... Wait(0.3) is not wait(0.3)


Once you've solved the scripting, consider: In Opus you can create an object on a master page, and later manipulate it on standard pages. HOWEVER, if I recall there was a 'trick' to doing this... something along the lines of making that object's action/attributes/etc. dependent on a variable or state from the beginning (i.e., a setup condition while it is on the Master Page). Ask later if interested.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 28th, 2009, 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry

Thanks again for all your responses in the various topics.

I've programmed in so many languages it comes as a bit of a
nark to learn a new one which is so fussy about names and spaces.
This problem has been solved by using wait and a semi-colon at the end of each line.

Up to now I've never needed scripting as the Opus commands
are so well thought out.

I've not used this forum before although I've used Opus for many
years. I'm learning about inputting, colours, emoticons etc but I
haven't used the code embedding tags. I'll look it up.
Regards
Mike

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 28th, 2009, 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Thanks Paul
That did it.
Regards
Mike

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 29th, 2009, 2:22 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
but I haven't used the code embedding tags. I'll look it up.

No, that is not about Opus. What I meant is to use the Code button and the Quote button (above in forum header when posting here)... to show scripts, etc.

BTW, I think the semi-colons are optional for terminating a line. But I like to use them.

On that 'Note',
cheers.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 29th, 2009, 10:37 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Yup!
I knew what you meant. 8)
What I meant was I would look it up here. :lol:

However, I do have a problem.
My Opus work is on the new computer
and I use a different one for Emails etc.
My computers are on a LAN but it's
easier when the script is small to visually copy. :P

Anyway, I'm on the way now.
I've attached a copy of the prog with 3 items.

Kind regards and thanks for all your help.
Mike


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 30th, 2009, 2:06 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Quote:
easier when the script is small to visually copy.
Not sure what you mean. Shortcut keys help. 'Shift-click' at end of desired selection (vs. dragging)... helps.


Quote:
Anyway, I'm on the way now.
'Yes'. I viewed. It looks like it is working -- but I guess you've got a ways to go to clean up the controls/GUI and timings.

Will the picolo player have to use a Netbook? :lol:

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 30th, 2009, 11:09 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
Hi Larry

It's easier for me to just type the code when the script is small.

My main computer for Internet use is a Sony Vaio XP Home
and "You do not have permission etc" keeps flashing.

Several expert friends and I have tried to sort it but.....

Kaspersky firewall might be the devil but the only successful way
is a USB flash drive or burn a CD.

So I just mumble at it and tell it I AM the adminstrator. :twisted:

Anyway, back to sensible things.

As I said I'm now on the way thanks to your very helpful comments and
code and the syntax correction from Paul. :D

We only use a piccolo rarely in a Duke Ellington number.

Interestingly, I'm looking at Netbooks - 10.1" screen seems big enough.
Just bought 12 scrappy ones from Ebay for about $20. (£30 GBP)
I've got two working - used to be a TV engineer.

All the best to you and yours; have a great new year. :lol:
Mike

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 30th, 2009, 11:14 am 
Offline

Joined: February 11th, 2005, 1:03 am
Posts: 185
Location: Yorkshire UK
Opus: Pro 9.3
OS: Windows 7
By the way - Seasons greetings to all our readers :lol:
Over 500!! 8)
Mike

_________________
I'd like to begin by saying, " It gives me great pleasure.....
Plato award winner 1999.
Several computers.
HP - Phenom Quad 2.3Ghz; RAM 4Gb, Windows 7 - 64 bit; 3Tb collective Hard disks; Nvidia Geforce 9600 GSO; Opus 9.3; Tascam2488


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group