Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 26th, 2025, 11:55 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Disabling/enabling multiple objects
PostPosted: February 17th, 2010, 12:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: December 21st, 2009, 5:26 pm
Posts: 27
Opus: Professional 7.03
OS: XP SP3
We recently upgraded to Opus v7 and the publication I'm currently working on requires around 3-5 objects to be disabled, then later enabled at the same time. I've been doing this using just one disable/enable action, but selecting mutiple objects within that action. However, when I save the publication under a new name (which I often do) Opus quite often seems to 'forget' all of the objects I had selected to be disabled, except for the first one I selected.

Has anyone else come across this issue, and if so any ideas of how to stop it from happening?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 17th, 2010, 5:01 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Hi,

Yes, I am also using Opus v7, and I tried using the standard disable action for the 3 buttons in the attached file: if the IMP file is saved using another name, 2 of the 3 checked buttons in the action were no longer checked. So, this duplicates your result. You may want to send a note to DW support making them aware of this.

As a work-around:

Here's a sample IMP that uses script in a button to disable multiple objects (in this case, other buttons).

Code:
Button1.Enable(false)
Button2.Enable(false)
Button3.Enable(false)


To re-enable objects, add another button ("enable") with this script:
Code:
Button1.Enable(true)
Button2.Enable(true)
Button3.Enable(true)


HTH

Kind Regards,


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Stephen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Separately?
PostPosted: February 17th, 2010, 6:25 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
What happens if you Disable the Objects separately instead of with just one Action?

Could you put them into a Frame and disable them together?

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 17th, 2010, 7:18 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Hi,

It looks like using 3 separate standard "disable" objects in the disable button, one for each of the 3 objects, retains these objects when saved with a new name. So, that will also work. (I didn't try the frame strategy, which could also work.)

So, plenty of options (a wonderful benefit of Opus: many ways to arrive at a result)! :)

Kind Regards,

_________________
Stephen


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group