Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 6th, 2025, 10:12 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: More embarrassingly simple issues...but important
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 4:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Alright, I have what I call a Functional Flowchart programmed of a Level 3 simulation that I need to get in front of the Army this week. I am stuck on what seems like should be stupidly simple issues.

First, I could not figure out out to set a score of 100 in variable Score_correct on the first page, then subtract 10 for each visit to a remediation page. The obvious of setting the Score_correct variable to 100, then adding -10 on each visit simply wouldn't fly no matter how I entered the numbers.

So, I did a temporary workaround of just creating a new variable with a start value of 100, then resetting that value to 90-80-70-60 on remediation pages figuring I'd be running it anyway so I could manipulate to demo. Not at all ideal, but "it don't have to be, it just has to look like it is" as we say in Hollyweird.

Problem is, another stupidly simple logic flow fails to work:
On button click
If <MODBMPA> is <70, then
then goto page FAIL,
else, goto page ASSESS

It always goes to page ASSESS, even though I have a box displaying the value of <MODBMPA> on the screen and it clearly says "60".

The order is correct in the programming. I cannot see logically how this logic can fail to work.

Obviously, I am missing something...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 4:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 2:35 pm
Posts: 117
Location: Swansea, South Wales
The built in scoring variables can be confusingly complicated.

However, I don't think they're meant to be directly manipulated in the way you describe--only accessed through the scoring actions themselves.

SCORE_CORRECT for example is supposed to hold the number of questions answered correctly not to hold a 'points' countdown as you are trying to use it. I suspect Opus is blithely overwriting whatever you enter while it waits for a "store score" action or similar.

_________________
Using Opus Pro 04 v4.5, Windows 2000


For this message leiafee has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 5:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
Hi,

Thank you for your enquiry.

The built-in SCORE_CORRECT variable is only intended to be used in conjunction with the dedicated Score actions and is not designed for use with more advanced Programming actions. You were therefore correct to create your own variable for this intended purpose.

The logic of your publication sounds correct, but I suspect that your <MODBMPA> variable actually contains a text string rather than a number. The If statement is therefore checking whether the word "70" is less than the word "60". This obviously makes no sense, so the 'Else' statement is triggered and the ASSESS page is shown.

To rectify this, please open the Publication Properties, select the Variables tab and ensure that the initial value of <MODBMPA> is set to 'Number' and its value is 100.

It also sounds as though you are using 'Set Variable' actions to decrease the value of <MODBMPA>. I would recommend replacing these with 'Subtract' actions (found under the Programming > Variables group of actions) which subtract 10.00 from the variable when each remediation page is displayed. This should ensure that the variable is always treated as a number and the If/Else condition should behave as expected.

I hope this helps. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries.

Kind regards,

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


For this message Robin Garrett has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Variable
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 5:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
I checked the initial set of <MODBMPA> variable is set to "number" 100.

What I need to have happen is -10 subtracted when a given page is displayed, then when the number reaches <70, goto "FAIL."

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: WHile I am waiting...
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
I went back and set the first deduction from the intial value of 100 by inserting in the"udate score by adding this amount box" to -10. Logically, that should give me "90." It gave me 0. So I put "-10" in the box at the bottom (whose purpose eludes me) and it displayed "-10" What I want is it to display the current value of the variable I set "-10" each time a page is visited, then goto "FAIL" when it drops below a given value.

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Variable
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 5:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
Mallette wrote:
What I need to have happen is -10 subtracted when a given page is displayed, then when the number reaches <70, goto "FAIL."


But your original e-mail stated that you were:

Mallette wrote:
resetting that value to 90-80-70-60 on remediation pages


This sounds like you are using a Set Variable to change the value of the variable, which may also be converting the variable to a string. I would instead recommend using the Subtract action which treats the variable as a number.

Please find below a link to download an example publication which should behave in the required fashion. Each page displays the current score, along with a button to advance to the next page and a button which checks to see if the variable 'scorevar' is less than 70. If it is not, an initially hidden PASS text box is shown. If the variable IS less than 70, an initially hidden FAIL text box is shown.

Pages 2, 3, 4 and 5 all have On Show triggers applied which subtract 10 from the 'scorevar' variable.

If you preview the publication, you should find that the 'Test Condition' displays the PASS text on all of the first four pages. However, once Page 5 is displayed, 'scorevar' is equal to 60 and clicking the 'Test Condition' button should show the FAIL text.

I hope this helps. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further queries.

Kind regards,


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


For this message Robin Garrett has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Thanks
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 6:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
I know you guys are getting towards the end of your workday so I am basically devoting myself to watching the forum as I really need to get this working today (on this side of the pond).

Sorry about the "orginal post" confusion. I went to the "set variable" thing as a workaround just to make it look like it was scoring, but as I mentioned, this is not really disireable or satisfying. I am going to look at the file you sent now...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Maybe the ticket.
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 6:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Looks good, Robin. I don't know how I get off into these tangents. I am going to attempt to implement and see how it goes. Don't know whether I'll get a test in before you guys head out for a pint or not, but I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks for the assist as always...
Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: YESSIR, that IS the ticket...
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 6:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Works like a hose!

One minor headscratcher. I couldn't see where you declared the initial value of <scorevar> in your example. However, since I declared my value on the initial page, it worked fine.

I need to visit over there someday and buy you guys a case of something...

Best regards,
Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: YESSIR, that IS the ticket...
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 9:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
Mallette wrote:
One minor headscratcher. I couldn't see where you declared the initial value of <scorevar> in your example. However, since I declared my value on the initial page, it worked fine


I created the variable as a Publication Variable (thereby allowing the variable to be used on any page of the publication). You can therefore view and edit the variable's initial value by clicking Publication > Publication Properties > Variables and scrolling down to the bottom of the list of publication variables.

Kind regards,

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


For this message Robin Garrett has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Pub Variable
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 10:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
That may be part of my problems. I ASSUMED that any variable you could see in the list was applicable to any page, so I just created there as needed.

It appears to work...does this create problems?

Thanks again...your help got me to where I needed to be today.

Best regards,
Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 10:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 12:27 pm
Posts: 526
Location: Digital Workshop
When you create a new variable, the default option is to create a Publication Variable. This type of variable gets added to the Variables list in Publication Properties and can be called, viewed and modified on any page of the publication without problems (so if you set a variable called 'myscore' to equal 50 on Page 1, this variable will still equal 50 if you display its value on Page 2). This is the most common use of variables and this is the type of variable you will need for your desired publication (as all pages need to be able to modify and check the value of the MODBMPA variable).

However, you also have the option to create a Page Variable (which, to be honest, I rarely use). Any page variables you create are added to the Variables list in the Page Properties and are only valid for the current page. Therefore, if you set a page variable named 'myscore' to 50 on Page 1, you will not even be able to display its value on Page 2 as this variable will not be available for use. By default, the values of page variables are 'non-persistent' and these variables will be reset back to their default values as soon as you leave their parent page.

Kind regards,

_________________
Robin Garrett
Digital Workshop Technical Support


For this message Robin Garrett has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Variable
PostPosted: February 14th, 2005, 10:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Ahh. So I've been creating pub variables but wasn't aware. Good to be aware...proves you are alive.

Have a good evening...thanks again for the help. I am sure I'll need more.

Opus is getting some notice around here due to my use. Maybe generate a bit of business for you in return for all the help. Any software is just as useful as the help that comes with it...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Success
PostPosted: February 15th, 2005, 4:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Thanks to Robin and all for the help. My functional flowchart is complete, tested, and the Army SMEs have been invited to provide their input. This will be used to correct my flow, and from the output of that a full-fledged VR simulation will be developed on how to deal with a minefield in a war zone. BTW, one of the SMEs is an Australian Sergeant Major and this training will also be used for British and Commonwealth forces...thanks to OPUS!

Another plus is that I've output it to HTML, and it ran perfectly in both IE and, surprise, Firefox. As the government requires storyboards, which can be in HTML, this requirement will also be met by this functional flowchart saving both time and money...and lives.

No joke, guys. Thanks a heap (Play "God Save the Queeen.wav" here.

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: interesting
PostPosted: February 15th, 2005, 9:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Hi Dave,
Good to see Opus is delivering the goods -- once you get used to it there is no better app to work in.
Any chance of a screenshot or two to see what you are doing? -- looks interesting.
Paul


For this message Paul has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group