Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 23rd, 2024, 12:17 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: RESET variables II
PostPosted: April 20th, 2008, 5:57 am 
Offline

Joined: April 5th, 2008, 2:41 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Sydney
Opus: Opus Pro Edition 9.51
OS: Windows 8.1
System: Acer Aspire V touch screen edition 4G RAM
Ok, I am having a very hard time with these variables - I feel Im all around the problem - but cant quite make it happen.

In a logical sequence, heres what I need to have happen.

1 text input a time ( hrs then mins ) - which is stored in 2 variables.
2 start a clock to count upwards.
3 when the clock time EQUALS the HRS and MINS ( which are stored )
4 STOP the clock. tell it ro reset to its inital values of 0 hrs 0 mins.

5 ALLOW me to enter a DIFFERENT time in the HRS MINS ( stored)
6 and start the whole process again.

Im having a HELL of a time with 5 & 6 it just resets then starts counting, WITHOUT stopping, and wont let me input NEW hrs or mins.

this project is ONLY being created in Opus 6.0

there are plenty of timers & clock samples out ther but most of them wont run on Opus 6.0 - and as far as I know none of them ( that IVe seen ) allow the user to simply reset and STOP the clock and wait for the USER to select a different time if he wishes.

kindest regards.. Aaaahh!! :shock:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 20th, 2008, 10:34 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
This is quite straightforward BUT use a TICKER instead.

1. Have the ticker count in minutes and use a script action to to increment a variable / control the ticker. (There are examples of these (previously posted or below)

2. Add your text input boxes for hours / minutes but multiple hours by 60, add the minutes and store in a new variable (myUserEnteredTime).

3. In the script object created in 1, if the actions is permitted, then compare value of ticker to value in 2 and perform action if true.

4. Reset the variable used for the ticker and and tell ticker action not to count .

EXAMPLE IDEA FOR TICKER CONTROL:

//TO start the ticker working simply set the myTickerCounting to true.

if (myTickerCounting == true)
{
myMinutesCounter++
if (myMinutesCounter == myUserEnteredTime)
{
//DO SOMETHING FAB HERE!
//The next line stops the ticker working because times match.
myTickerCounting = false
//The next resets the ticker to zero ready for the next count
myMinutesCounter = 0

}
}


Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: tickers...
PostPosted: April 21st, 2008, 12:11 pm 
Offline

Joined: April 5th, 2008, 2:41 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Sydney
Opus: Opus Pro Edition 9.51
OS: Windows 8.1
System: Acer Aspire V touch screen edition 4G RAM
Firstly, Id like to thank you for your help. - This "ticker " concept sonds interesting.

For all my time with using Illuminatus from Version 2.0 - all the way through to Opus verson 6.0, the tasks what I have been doing has all been pretty much either making slideshows, or MP3 players or interactive educational packages - the concept of variables is a whole NEW field for me. - thanks again for the sample script - Ill try nutting it out. - but first Im going to check out some of these "tickers" and get my head around them.

Also, an interesting "quirk ? " - Ive tried to upload a couple of samples of my previous finished projects and their only 1.1 meg or so - and it ( this board ) wont allow me to.. ( their all zipped ) - any ideas?
thanks agai nand cheers my friend. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 21st, 2008, 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
I am also unable to upload sample pubs to the forum. Emailed DW about it and got no response.

Paul


Last edited by Paul on April 21st, 2008, 11:40 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 21st, 2008, 10:47 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Rick,

Quote:
In a logical sequence, heres what I need to have happen.
1,2,3,4...etc
5 ALLOW me to enter a DIFFERENT time in the HRS MINS ( stored)
6 and start the whole process again.

Im having a HELL of a time with 5 & 6 it just resets then starts counting, WITHOUT stopping, and wont let me input NEW hrs or mins.
Are you constructing these using Triggers and Actions, or are you using scripting?

Depending on which approach you use, there are ways to "re-initiate" the sequence.

Also, you might look into Trigger >>> "variable changed", if you are using standard Actions.

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Explaination of the project.
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2008, 5:34 am 
Offline

Joined: April 5th, 2008, 2:41 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Sydney
Opus: Opus Pro Edition 9.51
OS: Windows 8.1
System: Acer Aspire V touch screen edition 4G RAM
OK, imagine you need 30 stopwatches. Each can be started and stopped without affecting ANY of the others Each can be started at any time and stopped any place along the way.- in effect each is a seperate entity.

Im thinking this is pretty basic for you lot, but Im walking in a "minefield" here as this is NOT ( and I mean really not ) my area.

What I need to do, is create a rectangle, inside which ,- a way to set a time, then have a clock underneath count up to that time. Each a self contained entity, that will happily run with up to 30 OTHER stopwatches all running on different times but all co-existing happily on the same, single page. and each will stop when they have met the target times, and be able to reset at will, and do nothing until Ive put NEW a target time in and set the counter off again.

sort of like this.....

00:00:00 - ( this is where you input yopur time )
00:00:00 - ( this is a default clock that counts )

when BOTH are the same, - a warning light & sound starts. ) - the BOTTOM clock keeps counting ( to tell you HOW FAR your over-time limit ). When you action the alarm the sound stops .

But only When you RESET will the actual variable that contain the stored time AND the default counter clock ) resets to 00:00:00 and waits for a NEW time.
Sounds crazy I know -but there IS a very rational reason for wanting a project with 30 independent stopwatches.

I just need the mechanics of "1" of these buggers running, and I can reverse engineer and customise, modify or do whatever. sample perhaps? the sample I find around here dont work with Opus 6.0

Things always seem easier to folow when you can pull them apart.....its a sort of wings-off-a-fly thing... besides, I feel so stupid., this really isnt my area of strength. :oops:

Many many thanks- :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2008, 7:08 am 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
what are you making -- something like an orienteering clock/timer?

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Explaination of the project.
PostPosted: April 22nd, 2008, 8:55 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Rick Pope wrote:
Things always seem easier to folow when you can pull them apart.....its a sort of wings-off-a-fly thing... besides, I feel so stupid., this really isnt my area of strength.


Hi Rick,

I'm attaching a ticker example for educational purposes (clocks are hard work) that shows how to have multiple clocks on a single page. You can play / pause & reset each clock individually.

Mack


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Timers & resetting - and other ( rocket science )
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2008, 1:47 am 
Offline

Joined: April 5th, 2008, 2:41 pm
Posts: 102
Location: Sydney
Opus: Opus Pro Edition 9.51
OS: Windows 8.1
System: Acer Aspire V touch screen edition 4G RAM
Firstly, Mack my friend I thank you! :D - as a matter of fact, I would like to thank ALL of you for your patience with me. - I must seem like a real wombat sometimes - :lol:

As for Opus 6.0 ? its a whole re-education for me - and a slow one. - I never realised how much POWER this program has.

In answer to pauls question regarding what this project is for, Ill try to explain:

In the rail industry, there are regular occasions where to maintain the system, work must be carried out on the rail lines themselves, as well as surrounding infrustructure. Any area inside a pre-determined boundry is deemed as "the danger zone ".

As you can gather, the idea is ( as far as possible ) to keep rail traffic running during these times. Many teams of workers - mostly using hand tools and the like, operate in isolated areas where because of their location ( like tunnels or blind curves etc ) puts them at great personal risk. - In fact its not un-common for these guys to come within 6 feet of a train that is moving very fast as they do this work.

The program Im designing is called " I Track-U " - put simply, its a way of allowing the operations staff to know what group is working at what exact location ( calculated between 2 milage points ) and at what time they calculate the task the crew are given should have to have been completed by.

It's a massive program actually, and the only component left was these damned clocks. - the 3D stuff and reporting components of the project ready to go.

I came up with this idea a couple of years a go after some mis-information had me in a sudden situation where ( in order to stay alive ) I was forced to lay face down with only a 3 foot wide gap between me and 2 trains travelling at highspeed in opposite directions ( one on either side of me.)

They say your life flashes before you.....well that was the most BORING 12 seconds of my life ! :lol: -seriously though, it made me think of ways to improve rail safety for these guys. - I used to be one of them myself.
I guess at the end of the day, all I want is to help get them to go home to their families.

Hope this answers any questions :D
cheers! and thanks in advance for the sample when it gets posted.

Regards...Rick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Timers & resetting - and other ( rocket science )
PostPosted: April 23rd, 2008, 7:41 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Quote:
=cheers! and thanks in advance for the sample when it gets posted.


Hi Rick,

Just to clarify, because there are other topics on the forum where people don't seem to be getting uploads - the sample is already posted. If I've got the wrong end of the stick - then ignore this. If you can't see the publication then email me.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group