Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 23rd, 2024, 11:32 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: The variable as the pathname of video object
PostPosted: July 15th, 2008, 11:51 am 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
Earlier, I used this method to display images from the catalogue. For example, in random order.

However, when I created the Video object with the pathname (<dir>) and add OnShow action page caused script:
Code:
var dir = "ALIAS\" + randomoutput + ".gif";
Video.Play(-1);

, the animation not play - displayed a static picture.

And it is only in the finished publication. In previews all work wonderful.
I use animated GIF as video object.

Whether this is not possible?
:(

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 1:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
I dont understand why this doesnt work. If I set the pathname as "C:\Temp\1.gif" - aniGIF plays in the finish publication. If I add variable "C:\Temp\<var>.gif" - anyGIF is static.

Ok. Create 120 video objects (GIF used it so much in my pub): video1, video2 ,..., video120.
But how I can play it using variable?
var.play() not working in the script also. where var - variable.

The only solution is to use operator IF 120 times, but this is madness.
I am upset:(

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 2:11 pm
Posts: 323
I believe it's because of the licensing of GIF. I think I recall somewhere several years ago that DW said they couldn't make Opus publications become GIF players due to licensing issues. I could be wrong, but I think that's what I recall.

_________________
Opus Pro XE 9.1 Win7 64-bit Core i3 8MB RAM


For this message bwpatric has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 2:54 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
This might be a daft question - but once you have loaded the video path into the variable you have told it to play the video?

If you haven't you'll just get a static image.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 2:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
bwpatric wrote:
I believe it's because of the licensing of GIF. I think I recall somewhere several years ago that DW said they couldn't make Opus publications become GIF players due to licensing issues. I could be wrong, but I think that's what I recall.

I know about it. But are there differences between the licensing GIF of variables in pathnames of GIF files?
After all, AnyGIF with static pathname normal displays and plays.

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 2:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
mackavi wrote:
This might be a daft question - but once you have loaded the video path into the variable you have told it to play the video?


Hi Mack

Of course. And a number of ways: script or action. No difference.

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 4:02 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Well unless it's a 5.5 issue - it should work fine.

All I did was create a video object, insert a variable called myPath. Create a browser dialogue action to locate video and tell it to play.

This plays a GIF video using a variable - so it is possible.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 4:16 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Ignore the last post - hadn't caught the bit about it not working in published mode.

You need to hide the video object, then change the path, then show the video object, then play.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 6:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
mackavi wrote:
Ignore the last post - hadn't caught the bit about it not working in published mode.

You need to hide the video object, then change the path, then show the video object, then play.

Mack

Mack, I didn`t understand a little bit. If implement the process that you said, the GIF video object with variable in the path is playing in published mode?

If so, the explanatory detail as you succeeded. I have failed.
This is extremely important to me. Has you done so by the script or action? Examples of code, please.

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 7:46 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
By script;


V1.Hide() //Hide video object
myPath = SYSTEM_PUBLICATION_DIR+"ij.gif" //set path of video
V1.Show() //show video object
V1.Play() /play video

Mack

Just to check - this is published as EXE?

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 9:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
mackavi wrote:

Just to check - this is published as EXE?

Yes, it is.

I`m sorry. I probably already to get tired of my stupid questions, but it doesn`t work :oops:

At first I did as advised Mack. But in this case didn`t display image at all. If made var test = "volf" where volf - alias, then again displayed static picture without animation. In both cases, on previews GIF plays good.

Mack, look at my screenshots, please. Did I insert the variable "test" in the input textbox of video object correctly?

Image

Image

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 16th, 2008, 9:50 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Put it in a script object not action. Then you don't need the on show.

Mack

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 17th, 2008, 6:13 am 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
Thank you, Mack, but it doesn`t work:(

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 17th, 2008, 3:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: March 4th, 2007, 7:17 pm
Posts: 132
I found the only way out of this problem:

1. Create multiframe object.
2. Create 120 frames.
3. To place 120 video objects with static path (for example, alias) in every frame.
4. Calling the desired video object by using variable:
MultiFrame.ToFrame (variable)

_________________
Opus Pro 5.5
Win XP


For this message Volgar has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: July 18th, 2008, 8:37 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Playing gif video using the video object with a variable and scripting.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group