Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 9th, 2025, 9:11 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Show text when audio has finished
PostPosted: September 25th, 2008, 11:05 am 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 7:37 am
Posts: 79
Location: Kent, UK
Hi, I need pushing in the right direction if you don't mind.
In our CBT we have a text bubble which we would only like to reveal when the audio has finished, so as not to distract from the screen shot.

I have checked forums and the user manuals (both standard and scripting) but I cant see a way to trigger on the end of a audio file.

I cant use the "Wait for sound to finish.." option as I would still like there to be interactivity, I have also looked at the GetPosition examples in scripting, but I would rather use the non-scripting method of launching the audio incase anyone else has to pick up my work.

What I'm proposing therefore is a re-useable script I can drop into any page that detects when the audio has finished and unhide the text bubble (which will always have the same name). Kind of like this...

while (true){
if (audioplay() == false)
{
textobject.Show()
}
}

Any help appreciated. PS I also would prefer to avoid the timeline, as my audio files would be of greatly varying length.

Cheers, Buns
----------

Opus Pro 6.01
XP SP2
1GB
Dual Xeon 2GHz
Radeon 7000


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 25th, 2008, 11:27 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike
User avatar

Joined: March 21st, 2007, 10:44 am
Posts: 3188
Location: UK
Opus: Evolution
Hi Buns,

Easier to use the sync to end trigger.

See example.

Mack


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
When you have explored all avenues of possibilities, what ever remains, how ever improbable, must be the answer.

Interactive Solutions for Business & Education
Learn Anywhere. Learn Anytime.

www.interaktiv.co.uk
+44 (0) 1395 548057


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 25th, 2008, 11:35 am 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 7:37 am
Posts: 79
Location: Kent, UK
Ah many thanks Mackavi, hadn't even thought of that one.

Your a life saver!

_________________
Opus Pro 7.04
Windows XP SP3
2GB
Athlon II X2 1.6GHz
ATI RAdeon HD 3200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 25th, 2008, 4:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 7:37 am
Posts: 79
Location: Kent, UK
Was happily plodding away using the 'Synchronise To End' and notice the attached discrepancies, where the object in the left panel does not match the object in the right. All pages seem to be affected and curiously all work fine.

Anyone seen this before?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Opus Pro 7.04
Windows XP SP3
2GB
Athlon II X2 1.6GHz
ATI RAdeon HD 3200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Haven't made selection
PostPosted: September 26th, 2008, 1:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
OPUS requires you to select which Object you want to use -- even if there is only one option. In your top example, you've selected "NE27.ogg." In the lower example you have NOT made a selection. That's why there is nothing between the symbols.

You need to highlight "EM01.ogg" in the right panel, then click "Apply" at the bottom right of the screen. When you do this, you will see OPUS has accepted your selection, and placed it within the greater than/less than symbols e.g. "Synchronise to End <EM01.ogg>".

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 26th, 2008, 1:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 7:37 am
Posts: 79
Location: Kent, UK
Hi Fred, in both of those examples I had selected the object, and both work fine.

The application is showing the incorrect audio clips after I have selected and 'Applied' the settings.

Regards, Kurt

_________________
Opus Pro 7.04
Windows XP SP3
2GB
Athlon II X2 1.6GHz
ATI RAdeon HD 3200


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: File Type
PostPosted: September 26th, 2008, 2:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
Kurt --

Do a test. In a New Publication using standard OPUS, create a Page and a Button Object which has Play Audio as it's Action. Select your ogg file. Do a Preview and see if it plays when you click the Button.

If that works, create an Image Object and have it Initially Hidden. Then create a Frame and have a Trigger of "On Show" with an Action to Play the same audio file used in the first test. Again, do a Preview to test it's working. Now add a second Trigger to the Frame which uses "Synch to end" and select the previously tested audio file. Have the Action be to Show the Image Object. Notice if OPUS is accepting your audio file within its brackets when you click "Apply." If it's not, try using a WAV or MP3 file to verify things are working.

If OPUS only accepts the WAV or MP3, then there's something about your OGG file which OPUS doesn't like. Did you create this OGG file? Any chance the file is really different than the File Extension?

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 26th, 2008, 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: June 9th, 2008, 7:37 am
Posts: 79
Location: Kent, UK
Hi demofred, I will try this next week - thanks.

As I say it actually all works, and plays the correct files and syncs perfectly, but for the strange way it shows the properties.

Regards, Kurt

_________________
Opus Pro 7.04
Windows XP SP3
2GB
Athlon II X2 1.6GHz
ATI RAdeon HD 3200


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 45 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group