Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently December 23rd, 2024, 8:58 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Scroll bars
PostPosted: January 29th, 2009, 2:48 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
I have a problem with the scroll bars on a page starting out at the bottom. I understand this happening when you go back to a page, it will be where you left it. But when I go from one database to another it seems that it should start out at the top.

Is there any command/script/whatever that will enable one to control the scroll bars and make them go to the top everytime you go to a new page?

BTW: I did a search and found plenty on scroll bars but nothing on this subject.

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 29th, 2009, 4:11 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Denn

did you look at
Quote:
SetScrollPosition( VScrollPos, HScrollPos )

Remarks:
This function allows you to set the position of the scrollbar for a specified Object. Both parameters are required. The parameters can either be a percentage or a variable name containing a percentage value.

Works for most common objects, you'd have to test it for the object being the Page itself.

alternate possibility: do a GotoPage(current) i.e., 'reset'

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: January 29th, 2009, 4:43 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
Lar_123 wrote:
Denn

did you look at
Quote:
SetScrollPosition( VScrollPos, HScrollPos )

Remarks:
This function allows you to set the position of the scrollbar for a specified Object. Both parameters are required. The parameters can either be a percentage or a variable name containing a percentage value.

Works for most common objects, you'd have to test it for the object being the Page itself.

alternate possibility: do a GotoPage(current) i.e., 'reset'


Thank you Lar_123,

I will test that tonight.

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 1st, 2009, 6:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
So far I have tried everything that I know how to do, but I still can't control the scrollbars. I have a program with 14 different databases, and even when I change databases the scrollbars still go to different places. One time they will be somewhere in the middle, and sometimes on the bottom.

I also tried to impliment the suggestion that Lar_123 suggested without success.

Does anyone know of a script they would be willing to show that will take the scrollbars to the top everytime a page is changed or when going to another database?

Thanks...
Denn

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 1st, 2009, 11:47 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Denn, there's really not a lot of info to go on here. Maybe some hint as to what kind of object has the scrollbar? Is the Pub set to display in a Window or Fullscreen... etc etc?? Are page sizes consistent. What kind of on-Show actions if any?

_________________
_good things come to those who wait(0)_


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2009, 12:19 am 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
I was presuming Denn was using pages taller than the screen, which have a scrollbar you are not in control of.
Maybe Denn can clarify.

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2009, 3:25 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
Lar_123 wrote:
Denn, there's really not a lot of info to go on here. Maybe some hint as to what kind of object has the scrollbar? Is the Pub set to display in a Window or Fullscreen... etc etc?? Are page sizes consistent. What kind of on-Show actions if any?


Sorry, I should have been more clear.

I have a screen that has 9 fields for input into a MS access database. It is a recipe book. 3 of the fields are memo fields capable of holding 60,000 characters. These 3 fields are for the “Ingredients, Preparations, and Notes” fields. When creating these 3 text fields on the page I drug a vertical scroll bar to these fields knowing that more information is going to be put into these fields than will show on the screen. Everything works fine with the exception of this... If I am in a category (there are 14. Example Beverages, Breads, Main Course) and click on a different Category it will take me to a screen that is linked (DSN) to a completely different category/database. But, even though I have changed pages/screens and I'm in a completely new database, the memo fields (the ones with scrollbars) will not have the scrollbar handles at the top. Sometimes the scrollbar handles will be at the bottom. For instance, if you had grabbed the scrollbar handle and pulled it to the bottom. When this is done sometimes it looks as if there is nothing in that field because all of the writing is at the top part of the memo field. This will be confusing to the user, therefore I need something (in the form of a script) that will force the scrollbar (handle) to the top of each memo field.

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2009, 8:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Hi Denn,
try a page pre-show trigger and use something like

myTextBox.Scroll("LineTo",0)

to reset each input box scrollbar to the top before it shows.

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 2nd, 2009, 8:38 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
paul wrote:
Hi Denn,
try a page pre-show trigger and use something like

myTextBox.Scroll("LineTo",0)

to reset each input box scrollbar to the top before it shows.

Paul

Thanks Paul,

I will try it as soon as I get home later today, and post the results here.

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 3rd, 2009, 5:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
Denn wrote:
paul wrote:
Hi Denn,
try a page pre-show trigger and use something like

myTextBox.Scroll("LineTo",0)

to reset each input box scrollbar to the top before it shows.

Paul

Thanks Paul,

I will try it as soon as I get home later today, and post the results here.

Hi Paul,

I must claim ignorance and stupidity. Using a pre-show trigger I took what you had posted and did it verbatim on each page of the project that has scrollbars,. I have no doubt that I did it wrong. I can only guess that "myTextBox" might be a place holder for the name of "My Text boxes", but I don't know that for sure. Will you please be a little more specific? For instance, does it need to be done three times, once for each of the texboxes? Or should it work for all textboxes on the page. This is outside the realm of my expertise.

I need an explanation for "Dummies" Image

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 3rd, 2009, 7:44 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Hi Denn,
Yes, "myTextBox" is a place holder for the actual name of the text box.
For a more generic way.....

For each of the text boxes add this script to a pre load trigger.

this.Scroll("LineTo",0);

"this." will make the scroll action work on the object the script is attached to.

OR you can do it without scripting. Under the text actions, you can use "Scroll to top" .

Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Perfect...
PostPosted: February 4th, 2009, 4:27 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: March 12th, 2005, 10:31 pm
Posts: 140
Location: U.S.A. - Deep South
Opus: ver 7.06 - Opus Pro - Build 15130
OS: Windows XP Build 2600 Service Pack 3
System: (2) 3.2 CPUs Intel - (2) gigs ram - 3.2 tb HD
Paul,

It works great and it is a nice improvement to my program. At first I could not get it to work and couldn't understand why it would not work. I was putting in the name of the text box and it was not working. Then I figured it out. The names of the text boxes were Ingredients-Field, Preparations-Field, and Notes-Field. Once I changed the names by taking out the dashs it worked great. Then I realized that I could also apply the script to the Next record within a database, so I applied it to the buttons for "Next record" "Previous record", "First record" and "Last record". Now, no matter where you go in the program each recipe screen starts out with the ScrollBar handles at the top.

Thank you very much Paul. People like you, Mackavi, Chris Jones and so many others in this forum make Opus Pro a better product by showing people what it can do (when scripted right). I'm surprised that Opus does not repay those of you who help the most by giving your Opus programs to you for free. I believe, it enhances the Opus product making it much more valuable to people like myself because of the help that is given by those like you. I've been using Opus for 10 years now and I've created over 150 programs. Many of these were possible by coming to this forum and being helped by people of good character like yourself, Mackavi and so many more, and there are a few of you that go beyond just helping.

I've learned allot over the past 10 years, but I've learned much more by being helped than I could have ever learned on my own, just like this script. I'm sure I will incorporate this into programs in the future.

Thanks once again for your help!
Image

_________________
PlanetDenn.com
Lots of Fun Freeware
Image


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: February 4th, 2009, 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 4:05 am
Posts: 636
Location: Christchurch, NZ
Hi Denn,
You always have a positive attitude, explain what you want, and I know you would have tried to do it yourself first.
People like you are easy to help.

cheers
Paul


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group