Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently September 30th, 2024, 7:26 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: touchscreen keyboard input
PostPosted: July 7th, 2005, 9:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: July 7th, 2005, 9:33 pm
Posts: 1
Location: Dubuque, Iowa
Hello -
I'm creating a project that will run on a touch screen kiosk. One of the screens asks for basic contact info - name, address, etc. The "real" keyboard will be locked away from the users, so I have created one that will be displaed on screen that they can touch to enter text.

I *think* what I need to do is have them first touch an input box, then enter the info via the on-screen keyboard, and proceed from one input box to the next.

My problem is I don't know how to have the "keyboard" put the text in the correct place.

================

I *think* I got it - I'm setting a placeholder variable with the OnClick action and a series of select/case statements to update each variable.


Last edited by jleblond on July 7th, 2005, 11:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Input text using Touch Screen
PostPosted: July 7th, 2005, 10:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
The Input Text Object uses the keyboard, so while the effect you want "looks like" an input text object, it's not.

Create a Text Object and make it the size you want. Add a Border, Shadow and even a Background color. When finished placing it on your Page, do a right mouse click within the Text Object to open the OPUS menu. Select Add Variable, then create a NEW Variable -- call it TXT_Input for example.

Now create Buttons for each letter of the Alphabet and numbers. You'll want an Action of Left Click add "A" to Variable TXT_Input for example.
You'll need and ENTER Button which will then take the Variable TEXT_Input and process it they way you would have handled the standard Input Text Object.

Hope that points you in the right direction.

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 4th, 2005, 9:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: February 7th, 2005, 11:40 am
Posts: 10
Why not script in the action to open the windows on screen keyboard!

I have done that a few times in the past and it works just fine.

_________________
Opus V2.81


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group