Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently October 5th, 2024, 2:19 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Show "trail" of a path taken at runtime
PostPosted: November 12th, 2005, 2:23 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
I want to run an object along an irrregular path (not just a reg shape) and have the Path become visible for the portion traveled. User will select Route A, B, or C for example.

You might call this "leaving breadcrumbs", or showing footprints, or marking the trail.

The path may cross over itself, so a Reveal attribute won't work.

I've also considered somehow "writing with Pen tool" using the moved Object's X and Y coordinates... but still don't see a way to do that.

Any help welcome. Opus Pro 5 (eval). Intend to Export to Flash.

Thanks.


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 12th, 2005, 9:18 am 
Offline

Joined: October 26th, 2004, 1:26 pm
Posts: 262
Hi,

I know little about cloning with OpusScript, but the attached IMP may give you an idea if you're experienced at scripting. :?:

Paul Gresham and Chris Jones are excellent with script. (or someone else may have a better idea) :)


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Cheers,
Steve


For this message Steve H has been thanked by : mackavi


Last edited by Steve H on November 14th, 2005, 2:03 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Show "trail" of a path taken at runtime
PostPosted: November 12th, 2005, 11:09 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Thanks for reply. Missing the mentioned .IMP file.

BTW, I've had problems viewing other demo files. After download and unzip, they just don't launch... "missing or incorrect parameter". ( I'll post this issue separately. Opus 5)

Also, my eventual "export or publish in Flash" is NOT an absolute requirement.

L


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 12th, 2005, 11:11 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
DISREGARD the "missing .imp".

The Download frame is visible now. Will try it.


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Okay, some success. But possible to REFINE ?
PostPosted: November 13th, 2005, 11:55 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Steve,

Thanks for your suggestion. After some trial and error, I have a solution.

1) never got the download .imp to open or play. (using Opus pro 5 eval)
2) "found" the script in that file... but even with Object naming changes, did not get it to work for me.
3) I could only clone Vectors, not any polygons ( "ball" )


I could not get suggested example scipt ... "while (path_1 == 0 ) " to generate any results for me. I do not understand this approach. Does this say Path1 animation is Not Complete? Or is it a simple STATE for Path1?

Would like help with the "while" part of the script. Simplify and streamline. Right now the trigger, MouseClick on Button, only works for one execution. Button is dead thereafter.

For reference, below is script I copied from .exe file, and then modified script I finally got to work somewhat.


Thanks

============== Script from Sample File ============

 ß ° H 00030000  00030030 €

*********************************************************************************************
ball.FollowPath(Path1,15,true,false,0,100,false)

while(path == 0)
{
wait(0.02)
x=ball.GetXPosition()
y=ball.GetYPosition()
x = x + 2
y = y + 2
cloneball=ball.CloneObject()
cloneball.SetPosition(x,y)
cloneball.Scale(0.2,0.2)
cloneball.Fade(10,5,false)
**********************************************************************************************
}  0003000E €  € ` 00030000, ( 00030030 € path = 1
//ball.Hide()



================== modified script ===============
****** The following works "okay". Could be better. ***********************************
Vector_w.FollowPath(Path_2,6,true,false,0,100,false)
while (Vector_w.GetPosition() != Path_2.GetPositionFromPercent(99) )
{
wait(0.008) // this speed still leaves a dotted-line look
x1=Vector_w.GetXPosition()
y1=Vector_w.GetYPosition()
x2 = x1 + 2
y2 = y1 + 2
cloneball2 = Vector_1.CloneObject(x2,y2,true)
cloneball2.SetPosition(x2,y2) // yes, this is redundant
cloneball2.Scale(0.5,0.5)
cloneball2.Fade(10,5,false)
}
**********************************************************************************************


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 14th, 2005, 2:06 am 
Offline

Joined: October 26th, 2004, 1:26 pm
Posts: 262
Hello L,

I did mention my script cloning abilities. ;) The IMP I supplied was from a sample already given to me. I don't know why you could not open the file? I have now updated the IMP to the 05 version (so try again).

Quote:
<< I could not get suggested example scipt ... "while (path_1 == 0 ) " to generate any results for me. I do not understand this approach. Does this say Path1 animation is Not Complete? Or is it a simple STATE for Path1? >>


I actually had this:

while(path == 0)
{ statements }

//<path> was only a variable name -- nothing to do with the acutal Animation Path object or state. I had a synchronise-to-end trigger to set the variable to 1, to stop the 'while' loop. You probably need someone much better at scripting than me to help you. (possibly with an alternate solution)

When you mentioned a breadcrumb trail, I figured 'cloning' an object might simulate this. I am not sure if you can get Opus to actually draw a line. Where is Paul? :mrgreen:

_________________
Cheers,
Steve


For this message Steve H has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: November 15th, 2005, 2:49 am 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 12th, 2005, 1:56 am
Posts: 1474
Location: SFBay Area
Opus: OpusPro v9.0x, & Evol.
OS: Vista32
System: Core 2 duo 2Ghz, RAM 3GB, Nvidia Go 7700 - laptop
Steve - thanks for your folllow-up.

I will try setting "path" as a var... later. Need to read up on scriipting some.

The I am a spammer.imp.exe files are not launching for me. Not just your examples, but others here too.

* I just "found" the Opus documentation... there is some mention of using layers for a progressive reveal ( route on a map ). Seems like that would be cumbersome.

My current plan is:

while ( Lar == away )
{
keep(trying)
keep(refining)
checkback(forum)
}

Thx


For this message Lar_123 has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group