Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently November 1st, 2024, 5:44 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Microsoft update for IE creates a problem for flash sites
PostPosted: April 28th, 2006, 6:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 4:04 pm
Posts: 9
Location: U.S.A
Opus: 9.6
OS: WIN7
System: DELL 4 gig Ram 256 Solid State
Hello to all,

I am posting this because it will most likely affect people that are making use of Flex.
No because of Flash directly but a Microsoft update for IE.

http://news.com.com/Microsoft+tweaks+br ... 80658.html

Every time the mouse pointer moves over an embedded flash movie Internet
Explorer draws a thick border around it and a tool tip appears saying "Click
To activate and use this control".

This appears to be a result of a new patch for IE
Windows update - http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=912945

Adobe has posted a fix fort this on their site. However after spending quite a bit of time checking their recommendations I came acros a better and easier solution at:

http://blog.deconcept.com/swfobject/

This is free to use and it has few more capabilities

How to use:

Download swfobject after you uncompress it import the swfobject.js file into your web site. Open the page that has the Flash movie. To import the javascript file, add this to the <head>…</head> area of your page:
<script type="text/javascript" src="swfobject.js"></script>
Now find the code that embeds the Flash movie. Don’t delete it yet, because you’ll want to grab some of its parameters:
<object classid="…” codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" width="500" height="100" id="mymovie">
<param name="movie" value="movie.swf?variable=varvalue">
<param name="flashvars" value="variable=varvalue"> << Your code may not have variables.
<param name="quality" value="high">
<param name="bgcolor" value="#003399">
<embed …></embed>
</object>
Add this code after the last </object> tag.
<div id="flashcontent">
This text is replaced by the Flash movie.
</div>
You can keep the div's ID (“flashcontent”) or call it something else. Then, put your alternate content in between the <div id=”flashcontent”> and </div> tags. This can be simple text, or it can be HTML code for a replacement image… whatever you want! This even allows search engines to index that alternate content as well, which you couldn’t really do with just a plain Flash movie.
Add this code underneath your flashcontent div:
<script type="text/javascript">
var so = new SWFObject("movie.swf", "mymovie", "500", "100", "6", "#003399");
so.addVariable("variable", "varvalue");
so.write("flashcontent");
</script>
This short bit of Javascript is what passes in the Flash movie parameters – from the original code, above - so that the SWFObject script can display the Flash movie properly. Here’s the breakdown:
new SWFObject(
"movie.swf", << the file name of the Flash movie
"mymovie", << this matches the “ID” from your Flash movie parameters
"500", << the width of the Flash movie
"100", << the height of the Flash movie
"6", << the version of the Flash Player that is required
"#003399"); << the background color
so.addVariable("variable", "varvalue"); << this is only necessary if you are passing in variables to the Flash movie through the HTML code. You can duplicate this line if you are passing in several variables.
so.write("flashcontent"); << replace “flashcontent” with the name of the div ID, if you’ve changed it
At this point, you can delete the original Flash code (the <object>…</object> tags and everything in between).

Adobe/Macromedia solution:

http://www.macromedia.com/devnet/active ... ccurrences


I hope this may save some aggravation....
If you find a better solution please let us know.

Regards

Saki


For this message Saki has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 4th, 2006, 8:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 1:21 pm
Posts: 424
Location: West Lancs, UK
Opus: 7
OS: Xp, Win7
Saki,

Thanks very much for taking the time to post this information.

It's very useful to me, as we've just found this problem occuring on parts of our website. Now I can tell my programmer where to look!

Thanks again, Linda

_________________
Linda Rossiter, Rossiter & Co

Pro 8, Pro 7, Pro 6, Pro 05.5XE, Pro 04XE, XE2.8, ILM 4.5 on Win7 Professional


For this message Linda has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 8th, 2006, 2:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 9th, 2004, 10:35 am
Posts: 49
Location: Canterbury UK
Another article on this from Adobe.

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/activeconte ... etter.html


Also an important security alert re Flash Players.

http://www.adobe.com/devnet/security/se ... 06-03.html

_________________
Andy
Hayward Design
E: andy@hayward-design.co.uk
T: 01227 721864

Opus Professional Version v6.00
Build Date Jun 18 2007 15:01:07
Windows XP Professional - Build 2600 Service Pack 2
Total Memory 1024 Mb
DirectX Version 9.0 or better
AMD Athlon


For this message Andy Piddock has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 8th, 2006, 3:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 4:04 pm
Posts: 9
Location: U.S.A
Opus: 9.6
OS: WIN7
System: DELL 4 gig Ram 256 Solid State
You are welcome Linda,

I am glad you found the information to be useful.

Regards
Saki


For this message Saki has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group