Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 10th, 2025, 9:00 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 17th, 2006, 5:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 26th, 2004, 10:23 am
Posts: 666
Location: Digital Workshop
Dave,

Tech Support will take a look at this as soon as they can.

_________________
ddww Opus Developer


For this message Duncan Lilly has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 17th, 2006, 5:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Many thanks. You guys haven't failed me yet...

Kind regards,
Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Show In Turn
PostPosted: May 17th, 2006, 8:05 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
Dave --

I downloaded your 4.5 Pub and OPUS automatically converted it to 5.5, but I believe Show In Turn works the same in both versions.

First, if an Object is Initially Hidden, then your Left Mouse Click will never work. I created a new Button and put your Show In Turn Action on the Left Mouse Click.

Next, OPUS doesn't work like PP in the way you were thinking. Show In Turn will display different OBJECTS, not lines within one Object. The Show In Turn List will display all Objects which are marked Initially Hidden. I did a Cut and Paste for each line/bullet into a new Text Object, then set them all to Hidden. I adjusted my Button Action to Show In Turn each of the Text Objects when I clicked the Button. You could use a Timeline, but then it would be just as easy to do a simple Show.

Maybe a faster way would be to leave all the bullets in one Text Object, then do a Reveal Down Transition, or use Text Animation to display line by line the bullets.

Again, OPUS doesn't work like PowerPoint in this regard, where you can take a single text object and have each bullet appear when you left click. Once you understand how this works, you'll find the Help Documentation is correct.

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


For this message demofred has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 1:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
"Making your text boxes display one bullet after another:"

"Show In Turn will step through all the bullet points in a particular text box before showing another object so if you want to show an image between two bullet points you will need to create those bullets in two independent text boxes."

What about the above am I missing? I hate to appear dense...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 2:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 2:11 pm
Posts: 323
Dave,

I don't think you're missing anything. Either you've found a bug, or the Help file is incorrect. Because it does appear that this does NOT work the way it is suggested it should. Now the script action does work the way it is suggested it should work in the Help file. I'm not sure if the script object will work for you version, but you could create a script object and then put the following in it, then work through it to see if it will.

Code:
// Automatically present initially hidden text with bullets as individual items
//
// Instructions for use:
//   1. Create your bulleted text and ensure it is initially hidden.
//   2. Add a pre show trigger and script action to your bulleted text object
//   with the following script: this.SetPosition(this.xstartpos,this.ystartpos)
//
//   3. Add a suitable trigger (eg. Left Click on the page)
//   4. Add a Show In Turn to that trigger and set it to show the text object.

function SplitUpTextObject(textobj)
{
   // Look for an Object List Object that contain this text object
   var object_list_object = null;
   var obj_list_pos = -1;
   var page = this;
   var objs = page.GetNumberChildren();
   var c;
   var p;

   for (c = 0; c < objs; c++)
   {
      var child = page.GetChild(c);
      if (child.GetType() == "ObjectList")
      {
         obj_list_pos = child.FindObjectPosition(textobj);
         if (obj_list_pos != -1)
         {
            object_list_object = child;
            break;
         }
      }
   }

   if (obj_list_pos != -1)
   {
      object_list_object.RemoveObject(textobj);
   }

   var paras = textobj.GetParagraphCount();
   
   for (p = paras - 1; p >= 0; p--)
   {
      var clone = textobj.CloneObject();

      // remove paragraphs before the one we want
      for (s = 0; s < p; s++)
      {
         clone.SelectParagraph(0);
         sel=clone.GetSelection()
         clone.SetSelection(sel.start, sel.end+1)
         clone.ReplaceSelection("");
      }

      // remove paragraphs after the one we want
      for (s = p + 1; s < paras; s++)
      {
         clone.SelectParagraph(1);
         sel=clone.GetSelection()
         clone.SetSelection(sel.start-1, sel.end)
         clone.ReplaceSelection("");
      }

      // Text editing messes up the bullets on deleting paragraphs,
      // but this sorts it out
      clone.SelectParagraph(0);
      textobj.SelectParagraph(p);
      clone.SetSelectionParagraphStyle(textobj.GetSelectionParagraphStyle());

      var parapos = textobj.GetParagraphPosition(p);
      clone.SetPositionX(textobj.GetXPosition());
      clone.SetPositionY(parapos.top + (clone.GetHeight()/2));
      
      clone.xstartpos = textobj.GetXPosition()
      clone.ystartpos = parapos.top + ((parapos.bottom-parapos.top+10)/2)
      
      clone.SetObjectSize(textobj.GetWidth(), parapos.bottom - parapos.top + 10);
      
      if (obj_list_pos != -1)
      {
         object_list_object.AddObject(clone, obj_list_pos);
      }
   }
}

function TextObjectHasBullets(textobj)
{
   var p;
   var paras = textobj.GetParagraphCount();

   for (p = 0; p < paras; p++)
   {
      textobj.SelectParagraph(p);
      if (textobj.GetSelectionParagraphStyle().bullet.type != "NoBullet")
      {
         textobj.SetSelection(0, -1);
         return true;
      }
   }
   textobj.SetSelection(0, -1);
   return false;
}


function Start()
{
   var page = this;
   var objs = page.GetNumberChildren();

   var textobjs = new Array;
   var textobjsindex = 1;
   var c;

   // Look for any initially hidden text objects with bullets
   for (c = 0; c < objs; c++)
   {
      var child = page.GetChild(c);
      if (child.GetType() == "Text")
      {
         if (!child.IsShowing())
         {
            if (TextObjectHasBullets(child))
            {
               // Add to array to avoid changing the list that we're iterating
               textobjs[textobjsindex++] = child
            }
         }
      }
   }
   var length = textobjs.length;
   for (c = 1; c < length; c++)
   {
      SplitUpTextObject(textobjs[c]);
   }
}


wait(0);
Start();

_________________
Opus Pro XE 9.1 Win7 64-bit Core i3 8MB RAM


For this message bwpatric has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 2:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Thanks. I'd seen that one, but I still don't quite understand where it is supposed to go. The implication in the third line is that only that line is to be inserted as a script for the pre-show. At one point, using only that line in preshow, I was able to get sequential display, but the last line displayed first and only the last few letters visible way off to the left margin. Each click caused a "no next page to display" error then displayed the next line of text. This certainly implied a bug to me...

If the rest of the script is needed, where does it go? Can you send me your example?

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 3:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 2:11 pm
Posts: 323
OK,

I think I've got it figured out and it's related to something Duncan said.

First off, the whole script "stuff" should go in a script object on the page level.
The preshow should be attached to your text.

In your text, I noticed that you have space above. This is what's messing it up. You need to select all your text and then if you need spacing between bullets, use the Line Spacing box and set as needed. I have tried Single, 1.5, and Double and all work.

On your Page, you should have two actions - Left click to Show in Turn and Right click to Hide in Turn. Make sure your text object is checked, and make sure your Object List matches.

Now all of the above comes with a caveat of I am using 5.5 Pro XE, so don't know whether it will all work for you and your version. I am attaching your IMP so perhaps you can take a look at it?


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Opus Pro XE 9.1 Win7 64-bit Core i3 8MB RAM


For this message bwpatric has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 3:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Now we're getting somewhere!

Works like a hose. However, I do not see the whole script object tied to the page. The "this.SetPosition(this.xstartpos,this.ystartpos)" line is in the text box pre-show.

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 3:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 3rd, 2004, 2:11 pm
Posts: 323
Me not having 4.5, I don't know exactly how it works there. What I did for the one I posted was Click on the Page in the object tree, then click on Insert, and then on Script Object. That's where I put the script text.

I'm glad we're almost there for you.

_________________
Opus Pro XE 9.1 Win7 64-bit Core i3 8MB RAM


For this message bwpatric has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 3:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Hmmm.... I fail to find any script except the "this.SetPosition(this.xstartpos,this.ystartpos)" attached to text 4.

I prefer to understand what is happening...but at least it works. Perhaps the moderators will shed some light.

Frankly I am surprised such a basic presentation issue has been such a hassle. While a number of the methods suggested (individual blocks, animation, etc) would work, all are far too cumbersome for rapid prototypeing and large-scale presentations.

I am going to duplicate a few pages and see how it goes...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: May 18th, 2006, 4:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
Found the script...just didn't register at first.

Houston, we have a template...

Thanks for your help! I'll need more...me n' Opus gonna get REAL cozy over the next couple of years.

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


For this message Mallette has been thanked by : mackavi


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group