Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 10th, 2025, 5:55 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wait function does not work
PostPosted: August 24th, 2006, 5:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 19th, 2005, 5:15 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Netherlands
Hello all,

I've got a big problem with this basic function.
For some reasons the wait function doesn work, and stops my script.

I used it like this is my script :
Code:
wait(0.1)


The first couple of times it works like a charm, and then it just stops.
I'm absolutely sure it's the stop function, because i checked which part of code is last run (text pointers). It's the wait function that's causing this problem.

Does anyone know, or experienced this.
Is it a bug, or something i'm doing wrong ?

Could use some help here soon. Thanks !!

Remy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 24th, 2006, 5:55 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Hi Remy

I tried the same scripting, using a 10 second delay. It seems to work fine.

I've attached the .imp file as a sample.

Check if you are setting up the action and script similarly.

Kind Regards,


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Stephen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 25th, 2006, 8:38 am 
Offline

Joined: January 19th, 2005, 5:15 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Netherlands
I used the wait function multiple times in my publication.

I want to post a piece of code here, but the problem is that i only noticed it in this situation, but it's a script which uses database information, loops and a lot of functions.

Posting my .ilm project isn't that easy, because it doesn't work without the mysql database etc. etc.

I used a workaround now with a empty frame, on which i use emptyFrame.SetTransparency(100, 0.1, true). It has the same effect, but it's still weird that this wait() instance is stopping my code.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 25th, 2006, 8:40 am 
Offline

Joined: January 19th, 2005, 5:15 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Netherlands
Here's the code i replaced the wait function.


Code:
function vulBlock(num,dbnum)
{

   records.GetRecordAt(dbnum); // haal de juiste record op
   var cRec = records.GetCurrentRecordNumber()

   // knop het id geven dmv array
   //old: itemIdArr[num] = records.pkVacatureID;
   itemIdArr[num] = dbnum;
   // en titles voor de stats
   statNameArr[num] = records.vakgebied +', '+records.flexisnummer+', '+records.functienaam;
   
   // alles vullen
   vulBox ("vacature_"+num, getSnippet(records.functienaam, 33))
   vulBox ("vak_"+num, records.vakgebied)
   vulBox ("regio_"+num, records.regio)
   var soort = (records.isFulltime) ? 'Fulltime' : 'Parttime';
   vulBox ("soort_"+num, soort)
   
   // define style
   var newStyle = new Object()
   newStyle.colour = 'f58232' // orange
   vulBox ("txt_"+num, "Het werk : ", newStyle)
   addBox ("txt_"+num, getSnippet(records.omschrijving, 140)) 
   //addBox ("txt_"+num, records.omschrijving) 

   // fade-in
   eval("kader_"+num+".SetTransparency(100,0)");
   toon("kader_"+num);
   eval("kader_"+num+".SetTransparency(0,0.4,false)");
   waitSolution.SetTransparency(100,0.1,true);
   // wait(0.1)  // problems with this wait, used above line as workaround
}


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 25th, 2006, 12:10 pm 
Offline
Godlike
Godlike

Joined: November 11th, 2004, 1:18 pm
Posts: 1213
Location: New York
Opus: Opus Pro 9.75
OS: Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
System: Core i7, 16G RAM, Nvidia 640GT (desktop), plus Windows 10 and Android tablets
Hi Remy

I'm not too bad at scripting, but I can't figure out why the "wait" in this instance causes a problem.

I hope that someone with more advanced scripting skills or the DW team weigh in and add some insight.

Kind Regards,

_________________
Stephen


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: August 25th, 2006, 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 19th, 2005, 5:15 pm
Posts: 83
Location: Netherlands
Me neither.

I figured out it that it was the wait function, because i tested with a lot of debug.trace() points in my code, and the last one echoed was the one just before the wait function. The one directly after, wasn't printed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 97 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group