Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 10th, 2025, 2:25 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No Sound Pause action?
PostPosted: September 29th, 2006, 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: August 30th, 2005, 2:27 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Porto Alegre, Brazil
This is the first time I use a voice-over soundtrack in an Opus application (I've only used sound effects to date) and I can't really believe Opus Pro doesn't have a Pause Sound feature, nor does OpusScript. Unbelievable. Is this really true?

_________________
Rubem Pechansky


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 1:16 am 
Have you considered using several snaller sound bites rather than one big one? The smaller bites give you some control over timings.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 4:47 am 
Offline

Joined: November 28th, 2004, 6:05 am
Posts: 141
Location: USA
Hi rubem

Is it really true?

Well yes and no.

There is a "pause" action in script.
However, they seem to have left out the "continue"

mySound.Stop(false)

Actually stops the sound where it is and the help file says that
it can be continued from there, but I can't see how.

Sooo. Here's the work around.

Create the variable <a> as a number with an initial value of 0

=================================

//Play or continue the sound
var mySound = OpenSound("sound.wav")
mySound.Play(1,100,a)

=================================

//Pause the sound
mySound.Stop(false)
a = mySound.GetPosition()

=================================


HTH
Chris

_________________
Opus Resources and Services


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 2nd, 2006, 4:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: August 30th, 2005, 2:27 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Porto Alegre, Brazil
Chris Jones wrote:
There is a "pause" action in script.
However, they seem to have left out the "continue"...

Great! Thank you so much for the solution. It seems that GetPosition() method "swallows" about one second of audio (a slow pause mechanism? :D ), but it works! Problem solved. Thanks again.

Now, what about a real "Pause" command? What do the Opus guys have to say?

_________________
Rubem Pechansky


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: import sound as video
PostPosted: October 24th, 2006, 2:17 pm 
Offline

Joined: November 19th, 2004, 1:36 pm
Posts: 178
Location: Birmingham
you can import the sound as a video object and then use the video options

_________________
Opus Pro 05
http://www.waspinagermanhelmet.co.uk


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 59 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group