Digital Workshop

Welcome to the Digital Workshop Message Boards
It is currently January 10th, 2025, 2:34 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Text Input Question
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
Hello,
For interactive tutorials I am creating, I want to create as realistic a simulation of typing that I can. When the user types a letter into a text input box, I want the variable to be updated and then the publication go to the next page without having to click anything or press any other key, such as Enter/Return. This is how I set it up to do that:

Text Input Properties:
Store in variable Text1
Update variable with every keystroke.

Action:
Trigger: Key Press "B"
If Text1 = B, go to Page Forward.

I would think that setting it up that way would work, since the letter I want them to type, B, is also the keystroke trigger that checks against the variable and performs the action of going to the next page.

Shouldn't it work?

If not, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks a lot,
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 6:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: January 6th, 2005, 8:56 pm
Posts: 330
Location: Houston, Republic of Texas
Opus: 8
OS: W7 Pro
System: Dell Precision T5500, 8 core Dual Xeon 2.13 GHz, 24 GB RAM, All SSD drives
So what is the function of the text variable? If you are just wanting to store the text, I understand. You mentioned you just want the page to change when the student types "B" If you have B as a trigger to go to that page the variable is irrelevant.

I am sure I am not following you...

Dave

_________________
An objective is a description of a performance you want your learners to be able to exhibit before you consider them competent.
Dr. Robert F. Mager, 1962

"If you can't measure it, it's crap."
David A. Mallette, 1980


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 6:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
Mallette wrote:
So what is the function of the text variable? If you are just wanting to store the text, I understand. You mentioned you just want the page to change when the student types "B" If you have B as a trigger to go to that page the variable is irrelevant.

I am sure I am not following you...

Dave


Hi, in my original post, I neglected to add that I'm using an if/else statement because I don't want the tutorial to proceed unless the user types in B, because on the next page in the pub, a text box is set to display the content of variable Text1 (in this case, B), so that it looks like the person typed it in.

Thanks,
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: September 30th, 2006, 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 3:03 pm
Posts: 540
Location: Tyalgum Creek. Australia
Opus: Opus Pro Latest version 9.02 Build 16458
OS: Won 10
System: Asus laptop Intel Core i5 8 gig ram, big monitor, reading glasses
Mike
I used the variable changed condition rather than the if and else condition and providing I've understood your post, the attached imp works like a charm.
Hopes this helps
Graham


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Too much coffee can result in frequent toilet breaks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: October 1st, 2006, 1:22 am 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
Perfect, thanks a whole bunch!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 1st, 2006, 5:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
Graham Baglin wrote:
Mike
I used the variable changed condition rather than the if and else condition and providing I've understood your post, the attached imp works like a charm.
Hopes this helps
Graham


Hi Graham, I'm bringing this up again because I have a related question:

If I need the client to type in more than one letter, how do I do that?

Thanks,
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2006, 5:47 am 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 3:03 pm
Posts: 540
Location: Tyalgum Creek. Australia
Opus: Opus Pro Latest version 9.02 Build 16458
OS: Won 10
System: Asus laptop Intel Core i5 8 gig ram, big monitor, reading glasses
Hi Mike
When you say more than one letter, how many letters are we talking about?
Will whatever number of letters you advise be the same for each text box, or will the number of letters vary?
Also, do you want the more than one letter/s to be specific letters?
Eg: th rather than t and any letter
Your answers to these questions would help to know exactly what you have in mind.
Cheers
Graham

_________________
Too much coffee can result in frequent toilet breaks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2006, 6:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
Graham Baglin wrote:
Hi Mike
When you say more than one letter, how many letters are we talking about?
Will whatever number of letters you advise be the same for each text box, or will the number of letters vary?
Also, do you want the more than one letter/s to be specific letters?
Eg: th rather than t and any letter
Your answers to these questions would help to know exactly what you have in mind.
Cheers
Graham


Hi Graham,
What I would like to do is program the page to change as soon as the last letter of a specific word is typed, and not before. Is there a way to do that without the user having to click a submit button or perform any other key combination?

Thanks,
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Variable Change Trigger & IF Statement
PostPosted: December 2nd, 2006, 11:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
Mike --

Take a look at my Attachment. I use a Variable Change Trigger in a Frame with an IF statement that has an Action of "Page Forward." My trigger "watchs" for the Text Input Object's Variable to have the exact input you want, then it advances.

Let us know if this is what YOU want.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Variable Change Trigger & IF Statement
PostPosted: December 3rd, 2006, 4:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
demofred wrote:
Mike --

Take a look at my Attachment. I use a Variable Change Trigger in a Frame with an IF statement that has an Action of "Page Forward." My trigger "watchs" for the Text Input Object's Variable to have the exact input you want, then it advances.

Let us know if this is what YOU want.


Hi Fred, thanks for posting that. I have set it up to use that, but the problem comes because I want a "sorry, you typed incorrectly" message to pop up if the user types the wrong thing (I'm sorry; I neglected to mention that in any of my posts here). With the "variable changed" trigger, the "incorrect" message appears every time the user types a letter until the user types the exact word, at which point the pagechanges.

BUt now I realize that what I want to do is impossible, because in order for it to work the way I want it, the computer would have to somehow be able to deduce that the user was through typing, even though no trigger would tell it so.

So, what I'm going to do is have the user press the TAB key when finished typing. In the program I am simulating, it's not done that way, but it will be close enough.

Thanks for all your help guys,
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Impossible?
PostPosted: December 4th, 2006, 12:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: October 25th, 2004, 2:20 pm
Posts: 686
Location: Naperville, Illinois (USA)
Opus: 7.05
OS: Win XP SP3
System: P4 3.2GHz 1GB RAM 2-TB HDs + 4 more
Mike --

Based on your new requirements, here's a solution. This one uses OPUS' Select & Case feature. As long as you are typing the correct letters, it allows you to continue, BUT if you type any incorrect letters, then an error message appears for a few seconds, and OPUS resets your Text Input Object Variable. With this solution, you could even have messages of encouragement appear (e.g. "Good start. Keep going." "Yes, those are the first two letters" "You are on a roll...").

Try this sample by first typing correctly, then try typing anything else.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Fred Harms, Extraordinary Demos
Naperville, Illinois (USA) 630/904-3636
demofred@aol.com


Top
 Profile Visit website  
 
 Post subject: Re: Impossible?
PostPosted: December 4th, 2006, 5:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: May 7th, 2005, 10:08 pm
Posts: 249
demofred wrote:
Mike --

Based on your new requirements, here's a solution. This one uses OPUS' Select & Case feature. As long as you are typing the correct letters, it allows you to continue, BUT if you type any incorrect letters, then an error message appears for a few seconds, and OPUS resets your Text Input Object Variable. With this solution, you could even have messages of encouragement appear (e.g. "Good start. Keep going." "Yes, those are the first two letters" "You are on a roll...").

Try this sample by first typing correctly, then try typing anything else.


Hey Fred,
That works perfectly - thanks a lot! :D :D
Thanks everyone, for all you put into this.
Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 69 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group